Brown Sugar Cookies from Crisco® Baking Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
very easy and very good! i topped it off with a little bit of cinnamon and it was very good!!! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
It could have five stars if they werent so salty...my advice, skip the salt and they should be fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
my girls loved these cookies! I wanted to make sugar cookies, but didn't have much regular sugar left, just brown. found this recipe and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These are awesome. Mind you I had lard not shortening. I added 1/2tsp. of cinnamon & my 1yr old kept making "mmm" sounds while eating them. I'll up the cinnamon next time I make'em. With sugar cookies, I usually bake some right away & the rest I usually wrap them into a tube & instead of rolling & flattening them to cut them into shape, I just slice them & while they're all round I cook every single bit of them. The recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very delicious, I didnt use any salt though. I added some grated coconut - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
It was soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These cookies are very bland and do not taste good at all. It is a simple recipe and the cookies are basically fool proof, but they really do taste "empty" and as the other reviewer mentioned, you can taste the shortening. I like sugar cookies normally, so that is not the issue. I first baked them without salt as other reviewers recommend and thought perhaps that was why they were flavorless so I did a quick second batch with salt; which were just as bland. Perhaps almond flavoring or coconut, but then that would not be this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I would not use salt and I would use butter instead of crisco....way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Love these cookies! I made a few adjustments by substituting White Flour for equal amounts of Gold brand Wheat Flour. (No need to blend the two flours.) I used one whole stick of Crisco butter flavored shortening and left out the regular butter. Then, before baking I rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar. It's a more nutritious cookie - if cookies can be called that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Almost perfect, I tried with cinnamon and without, bot have a very nice flavor, but I guess I am still not used to using brown sugar instead of white sugar. I feel the brown sugar flavor was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katee Korn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States