Brown Sugar Cookies from Crisco® Baking Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was a hit with my children. I read the previous reviews and I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and then for the 1 1/4 cups of brown sugar I used 1/4 cup dark brown and 1 cup light brown. I will definitely be making this recipe again just next time I will double the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Didn't have any extract sub'd honey and sprinkled w/ brownsugar & dixie sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Loved these cookies and so did everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These cookies are very bland and do not taste good at all. It is a simple recipe and the cookies are basically fool proof, but they really do taste "empty" and as the other reviewer mentioned, you can taste the shortening. I like sugar cookies normally, so that is not the issue. I first baked them without salt as other reviewers recommend and thought perhaps that was why they were flavorless so I did a quick second batch with salt; which were just as bland. Perhaps almond flavoring or coconut, but then that would not be this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Well i just made these and i wasn't at all impressed. The recipe was simple enough easy to put together and dough holds up well, however there isn't much flavor here. I feel that the shortening taste is a bit over powering and thought they tasted a bit bland even with additional sugar, all in all I think that this is a good base recipe that can be improved upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I would not use salt and I would use butter instead of crisco....way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Almost perfect, I tried with cinnamon and without, bot have a very nice flavor, but I guess I am still not used to using brown sugar instead of white sugar. I feel the brown sugar flavor was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katee Korn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Love these cookies! I made a few adjustments by substituting White Flour for equal amounts of Gold brand Wheat Flour. (No need to blend the two flours.) I used one whole stick of Crisco butter flavored shortening and left out the regular butter. Then, before baking I rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar. It's a more nutritious cookie - if cookies can be called that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These are awesome. Mind you I had lard not shortening. I added 1/2tsp. of cinnamon & my 1yr old kept making "mmm" sounds while eating them. I'll up the cinnamon next time I make'em. With sugar cookies, I usually bake some right away & the rest I usually wrap them into a tube & instead of rolling & flattening them to cut them into shape, I just slice them & while they're all round I cook every single bit of them. The recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very delicious, I didnt use any salt though. I added some grated coconut - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States