Brown Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I risked using non-hydrogenated margarine (yey, no trans fats!) instead of the shortening/butter, which usually doesn't hold up too well in cookie recipes, but in this case it worked perfectly. I used all dark brown sugar, almond instead of vanilla extract, and a bit extra baking soda. I made drop cookies instead of rolling & slicing the dough, and was rewarded with these DELICIOUS soft little puffs. Ready in 15 minutes all together. I'm so excited that this recipe worked even with my TFA-free substitution, it will become a staple in my house. I will have to buy the next size up in jeans now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AT828
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
These sugar cookies are wooonderful! It’s hard to describe the texture, except to say that it is very solid. Not heavy, but definitely not light and airy; a pretty dense cookie. They aren’t crispy, but not soft and chewy either. Toothsome, I guess? Phenomenal flavor. I made them with M&Ms in them, and they are fabulous! The first batch I cooked a bit more (at least 11 minutes). The second batch I cooked for 10. Very different textures, actually. The second tasted much more buttery. Both were excellent, just different. I would definitely make these again, and I will definitely continue to put some extra goodies in them. I chilled the dough in the freezer and would do that again. Fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
FaNtAsTiC!!! very good turnout! These were chewy and I used plastic cookie cutters to cut these into cute shapes. I did add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to it. I tryed both the original and the oatmeal coconut. I gave the original a 5* but I would give the coconut oatmeal a 3* the flavor was wonderful but no matter how thick I made the shapes the cookies still turned out to be just over 1/8 inch thick after baking when the original was just between 1/4 and 1/2 inch thick which was great! I guess it could have been that batch, because i used imperial margarine instead of butter, so I am not completely sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
These are some of the BEST sugar cookies I have ever tasted. I didn't have any shortening, so I used all margarine instead, but they were fine. I increased the vanilla and added some cinnamon for a little kick. I was unable to roll the dough out like the directions said, it was way too sticky. But that was probably because I didn't use the shortening. I placed it in freezer tight tubs instead and grabbed chunks of the dough and rolled it into a ball. I will definitely try the different variations. My first sugar cookie recipe is going to be my last!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
This recipe is AWESOME! I've been using it for a long time & am quite pleased. Be sure to remix after defrosting, because the ingredients tend to separate - remixing won't hurt the batter. Thanks, Debbie, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great cookies. Very easy to make! I substituted all brown sugar, all butter rather than any shortening, and 1/2 an extra cup of flour (which may not have been a great after-thought), inspite of all those exchanges the recipe was still very good. If my supplies hadn't been so limited and my sweet tooth so ravenous, I would have made the recipe exactly as directed. All in all, good little recipe. Not as fluffy as I had hoped and very cripsy around the edges, but still a very nice "tea cookie" indeed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandifly
Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Makes a ton! Great even without adding M&M's (as a chocolate hater and person with nut allergies I like these plain). I prefer this recipe over any cookie recipe I've ever made. This recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe has been in my family since I can remember. My mom clipped it out of a newspaper back in the '60s or '70s under the title "Cookie Pops" and it has always been our family favorite. Two days ago we had a "taste test" with three sugar cookie recipes, and this recipe was the overwhelming winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We LOVE the option of fresh baked cookies every night! I usually only bake for about 8 minutes though, as we like a chewier cookie. Thanks for a great standy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
These are very good. I made the dough in the morning and then just sliced and baked them in the afternoon. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States