Brown Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AT828
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
These sugar cookies are wooonderful! It’s hard to describe the texture, except to say that it is very solid. Not heavy, but definitely not light and airy; a pretty dense cookie. They aren’t crispy, but not soft and chewy either. Toothsome, I guess? Phenomenal flavor. I made them with M&Ms in them, and they are fabulous! The first batch I cooked a bit more (at least 11 minutes). The second batch I cooked for 10. Very different textures, actually. The second tasted much more buttery. Both were excellent, just different. I would definitely make these again, and I will definitely continue to put some extra goodies in them. I chilled the dough in the freezer and would do that again. Fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I am a recent newlywed and pretty much have no idea what I am doing in the kitchen! :) I find myself being extremely intimidated by most recipes but these were fabulous! Not only were they easy to make, they were good! My new husband liked them and so did my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These are wonderufl cookies! Instead of rolling them into logs, I made drop cookies and floured the pan. I cooked them for about 10 minutes, and used the chocolate chip variation with one cup chocolate chips and one cup chopped walnuts. They turned out soft, airy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This recipe is really great. Since it's just my husband and I in the house, we usually don't get around to eating an entire batch of sweets. Now, I can just pop a few of these in the oven when we sit down for dinner and we can have warm chocolate chip cookies for dessert! The dough seems a little sticky to roll into a log, but the cookies turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Good cookies, but next time I will use half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
These cookies are DEEEEELICIOUS!!! My favorite is to make them plain, but I often make them with chocolate chips. They're certainly a favorite and everyone always asks me for the recipe. Great cookies Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYMARSH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe has been in my family since I can remember. My mom clipped it out of a newspaper back in the '60s or '70s under the title "Cookie Pops" and it has always been our family favorite. Two days ago we had a "taste test" with three sugar cookie recipes, and this recipe was the overwhelming winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Fabulous!!! I made these last night for some co-workers today and my phone has been ringing off the hook with compliments. I will absolutely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
These are some of the BEST sugar cookies I have ever tasted. I didn't have any shortening, so I used all margarine instead, but they were fine. I increased the vanilla and added some cinnamon for a little kick. I was unable to roll the dough out like the directions said, it was way too sticky. But that was probably because I didn't use the shortening. I placed it in freezer tight tubs instead and grabbed chunks of the dough and rolled it into a ball. I will definitely try the different variations. My first sugar cookie recipe is going to be my last!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I risked using non-hydrogenated margarine (yey, no trans fats!) instead of the shortening/butter, which usually doesn't hold up too well in cookie recipes, but in this case it worked perfectly. I used all dark brown sugar, almond instead of vanilla extract, and a bit extra baking soda. I made drop cookies instead of rolling & slicing the dough, and was rewarded with these DELICIOUS soft little puffs. Ready in 15 minutes all together. I'm so excited that this recipe worked even with my TFA-free substitution, it will become a staple in my house. I will have to buy the next size up in jeans now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States