Brown Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Iv'e made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed the refridgerator cooling time exactly, but the second time I tried only keeping the dough in the fridge for an hour or so and ya know what? It came out exactly the same! I though four hours had seemed a wee bit too long, and it was. Same results, same taste in way less than half the time! I do add two cups of brown sugar however because I'm a brown sugar junkie and a flavor of brown sugar lessens so much after baking with it, so two cups seems to be satisfactory. I know it seems like a lot of sugar, but it's soooooo yummy. Also try adding chocolate chips for some really yummy choco-chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I thought this was great. The cookies were moist and chewy and stayed thusly for several days. I added a 1/2 cup of white sugar, substituted half/half for the water and heavy cream, and did not refridgerate the dough. Otherwise I prepared the recipe exactly as stated, and it was grand. My family couldn't get enough of these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This recipe was ok, but A little bland. I added white sugar in with the recipe and also sprinkled white sugar to the tops of these cookies. Just to give them some better flavor. I will continue my search for a better sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I agree with another viewer - they're not sweet enough. I like things not tooo sweet, but these tasted too "healthy" - double the brown sugar and use TWO pinches of salt to bring out the flavor. These would be good as thumprint (jam) cookies, or with a 1/2 tsp cinnamon added. The texture was nice, very buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This dough was easy to make, and easy to work with. Not too sticky at all. I made huge cutouts and they didn't dry out in the oven, get too crispy, or burn. They needed some frosting to be perfect (in my opinion). I used to sugar cookie icing, yellow sugar, and mini chocolate chips on mine to try to make sunflower cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
It was a good cookie, I would recomend using a bit more flour otherwise, it was a little hard to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
These are delicious! But, it is the only cookie that I can't stop eating so I won't allow myself to make them anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I really liked these, but they were too rich for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I messed with the recipe some. I increased the flour by 1/2 cup. I doubled the vanilla and brown sugar I also added about a 1/4 c. white sugar. When I took them out of the oven they smelled PHENOMENAL! I loved them. My 2 year old loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Excellent! Very easy to work with and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States