Brown Sugar Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I am not a big pork chop fan, but this recipe sounded so good I thought I'd try it. After reading many of the reviews, I decided to serve it over rice and also let it marinate in the juice for a few hours prior to cooking. I also broiled it for about 5 minutes each side after baking it for 30 minutes. It was not dried out, and a good texture. My husband enjoyed it, but didn't rave over it. I will probably make it again, but will thicken up the sauce a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was great, I loved it. I took the advice of other reviews and added a bit of honey and cooked on the stove top, because I was in a hurry, and found that these turned out marvelously. So much so, that there were none left for me! My family inhaled them. Guess I will double and make more next time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
The flavor was good, but it was too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Sorry! One hour in the oven is toooo long for pork chops. They were dry as a bone and I ended up tossing out half of them. I should have trusted my instincts when I saw 1 hr. of cooking time for chops. The sauce was ok, but nothing special. Can't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was ok. The chops do not look pretty coming out of the oven. When I removed the foil I had to add more brown sugar but they still did not come out glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Pretty darn tasty for a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I followed a lot of the other suggestions -- preparing the glaze in a saucepan, adding Worcestershire sauce and onion soup mix, and turning the chops over for the last few minutes. I also added some white potatoes to the baking dish (had to microwave those for a few minutes in the end). The taste was terrific, but the meat was overcooked. I'll try this again, but I might do it in a saute pan and cook the chops for a much shorter time (and cook a separate side dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These are good but even better when you add onion, garlic and a bit of cayenne for some heat. This is also a good recipe for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This recipe was phenomenal. I used a corningware dish and it was perfect and easy to clean. I sprinkled some of the brown sugar on the dish, then placed the chops in it, then sprinkled the rest of the brown sugar all over the top of the chops, and added the pats of butter. The resultant sauce was very thin, but there was so much flavor it didn't matter. My husband was extremely disappointed that I didn't make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good! Changed it up a bit -- didn't have soy sauce, so I used a little worcestshire sauce, white wine vinegar, and sweet & sour sauce. I served it over a long grain rice / vegetable medley mix. The sauce was a little runny, but still delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States