Brown Sugar Chocolate Crackle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Easy, no-mess (use the same bowl you melted the chocolate in) and a hit with the children, who loved helping to coat them. We made these 4 times in one week, and there weren't any left over at night! Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I agree with someone else that 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of chocolate chips doesn't sound right, but that didnt' seem to matter. These cookies turned out perfect. Make sure to coat very well with powdered sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I usually can't bake anything right, but these were easy and turned out great: My 2 year can vouch for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made these for a neighbor who lost his father (plus more for my sister and mom, and my house) and they all got rave reviews. I did use pecans since I didn't have walnuts and added white chocolate chips. They were great and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Boman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Had no chocolate chips, so I substituted 9T unsweetened cocoa powder, 7T sugar and 3T melted shortening for the chocolate chips. Excellent outcome and perfectly formed crackle cookies. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This has incredible chocolate flavor! It was just what I was looking for flavor wise, but when ready to take out of the oven it's almost impossible. The batter spreads so much a and stays so crumbly and oozy that when I tried to pick it up with the spatula the cookie kept falling apart and I had to just take each one and put it on the cooling rack and then shape it back to a cookie shape because it completely looses it's shape if you touch it while it's in the oven. Before this batter is even cooked though this recipe would make a great fudge I think. Anyway, I highly reccomend this recipe for seriouse chocolate lovers like me, but try to figure out a way so it's not so impossible to get the cookies out of the oven first! I just went back and put the rest of the batter into a small glass baking dish about 4 inches deep and about 9 inches lone and 4 inches wide and baked it. That's the way to do it atleast for me until I can find a way to do it in cookie form. This was it is a bit like fudge or a brownie. Very good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
THANK YOU for such a wonderfully delicious chocolate recipe with no eggs, milk, or butter! Those in my family with allergies are loving it! I am not much of a baker, so I made the recipe exactly as listed, with one exception. Per another review, I used a bit less oil (1/3 cup). Melted the chocolate in the microwave and did the rest in my Kitchenaid mixer (doing 1 egg at a time is key). Put the dough in the freezer for 45 minutes, rolled into balls, dipped in sugar, and baked on my baking stones for the full 12 minutes - PERFECT! Doubling the recipe got me 80+ cookies, which is even better with a big family. Again, THANKS for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Yum... Thanks for the recipe.. I had no problem at all to move them from the baking sheet. Here's the changes I made: 1. 1/3 cup of oil was used instead of 1/2 cup; 2. the dough was kept in the freezer for 25 minutes(this trick is good for those who are impatient to wait, like me:-P); 3. 1/3 cup of cocoa powder was added. This is going to be the gift for my friend's birthday tonight... I need to stop myself looking at them now...(I said STOP!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Amazing.... after a few changes from reading the reviews. Of course I didnt want droopy cookies, so I added 1/4 cup cocoa to batter to thicken it up and I stuck it in the freezer for a 1/2 hour (cause im too impatient to wait for them in the fridge!). I used butter instead of oil cause thats what I had and I didnt dip them in powdered sugar, just to eliminate the mess. I also added semi sweet chips to the batter. Well... they are amazing! Chocolate paradise! The stayed plump and round and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
After reading the reviews, we reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and refrigerated the mixture overnight. We used a mixture of 2/3 cup semisweet and 1/3 cup milk chocolate chips and baked for the full 12 minutes. They turned out fabulous and we got 5 dozen good sized cookies:-) Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States