Brown Sugar Chocolate Crackle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Had no chocolate chips, so I substituted 9T unsweetened cocoa powder, 7T sugar and 3T melted shortening for the chocolate chips. Excellent outcome and perfectly formed crackle cookies. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I also used 1/3 cup oil and added mini choc. chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Yum... Thanks for the recipe.. I had no problem at all to move them from the baking sheet. Here's the changes I made: 1. 1/3 cup of oil was used instead of 1/2 cup; 2. the dough was kept in the freezer for 25 minutes(this trick is good for those who are impatient to wait, like me:-P); 3. 1/3 cup of cocoa powder was added. This is going to be the gift for my friend's birthday tonight... I need to stop myself looking at them now...(I said STOP!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
After reading the reviews, we reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and refrigerated the mixture overnight. We used a mixture of 2/3 cup semisweet and 1/3 cup milk chocolate chips and baked for the full 12 minutes. They turned out fabulous and we got 5 dozen good sized cookies:-) Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Amazing.... after a few changes from reading the reviews. Of course I didnt want droopy cookies, so I added 1/4 cup cocoa to batter to thicken it up and I stuck it in the freezer for a 1/2 hour (cause im too impatient to wait for them in the fridge!). I used butter instead of oil cause thats what I had and I didnt dip them in powdered sugar, just to eliminate the mess. I also added semi sweet chips to the batter. Well... they are amazing! Chocolate paradise! The stayed plump and round and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
THANK YOU for such a wonderfully delicious chocolate recipe with no eggs, milk, or butter! Those in my family with allergies are loving it! I am not much of a baker, so I made the recipe exactly as listed, with one exception. Per another review, I used a bit less oil (1/3 cup). Melted the chocolate in the microwave and did the rest in my Kitchenaid mixer (doing 1 egg at a time is key). Put the dough in the freezer for 45 minutes, rolled into balls, dipped in sugar, and baked on my baking stones for the full 12 minutes - PERFECT! Doubling the recipe got me 80+ cookies, which is even better with a big family. Again, THANKS for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very dense for a crackle cookie is recommend using less oil. But very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I agree with someone else that 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of chocolate chips doesn't sound right, but that didnt' seem to matter. These cookies turned out perfect. Make sure to coat very well with powdered sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Cookies were tasty. But I'm wondering if 1 cup of flour is correct. The "dough" was more like batter til chilled for a long time. Even after 4 hours of chilling, the cookies still spread pretty flat when baking. 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of chocolate chips does not sound like proper proportions. Just wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I've made them twice. The first time they turned out great, tasted like cookies. The second time they were a little too soft, more like brownies in cookie shape. overall they are like brownies, smelled like brownies when baking. A little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States