Brown Sugar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great recipe. I put chocolate chips in mine and (to me) it tasted exactly like chocolate chip cookie bars. It wasn't like a brownie but good all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I decided to add about a teaspoon of maple flavored extract to the dough, and I put in 1 cup of butterscotch chips. I've had "blondies" without chips before and find them a little lacking. With the chips and maple, these were awesome. Just know that butterscotch chips are very sweet, so if you don't like very sweet desserts but would still like to add a bit more sweetness to the basic recipe, you can always go with semisweet chocolate chips for a good balance between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
these turned out horrible. they took 15 minutes longer then said. The outsides were burnt. the chips fell thru and were stuck to the bottom of the pan. they also there extremely thin. just not good at all. I dont know what happened. I followed the recipe to a T. this happens every-time i make blondies...no matter the recipe. it must be my fault. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I added just a pinch of cinnamon and dark chocolate chips instead of nuts. The edges baked hard and crunchy and the middle was soft and gooey. ( They seemed a little greasy, but it may be that I had to use egg replacer due to an egg allergy so that can affect the final outcome.) Next time, I'll cut back some of the salt. Otherwise, they were great. These will be in heavy rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Nahr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Amazing recipe! This was the perfect base 'blondie' (The name I call them) recipe. I used chopped pecans instead of the walnuts, adding half of the nuts into the batter and then using the other half to sprinkle over the top before baking. After reading reviews from others, I baked this in a 8x8 in square pan, which turned out to be the perfect size. These baked very well and filled the kitchen with a delicious scent. Next time I will definitely add some berries on top and maybe chocolate chips. Such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fabulous!! I got so many compliments on this. I took it to a friends who had just had a baby not knowing her all time favorite dessert was applebees blondies. She said these tasted just like them. I followed the recipe exactly. For the sauce I melted one block of cream cheese, added about 3/4 cup of real maple syrup. Then in a separate bowl made your basic powered sugar/milk icing to the consistency I wanted. Mixed icing to cream cheese mix. Served blondies and sauce hot, sprinkled with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These are delicious ! I wanted to make a 9 x 13 pan so I upped the ingredients as follows: 2 cups sifted flower, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 1/2 cups softened butter, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla and left out the walnuts. I chopped up a white chocolate candy bar and put the pieces on top of the batter. It took about 35 minutes in the 9 x 13 pan. Love this recipe and will use it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Best blondes recipes! I add mini M&Ms to the top before baking. They are so much better than Starbuck's Blonde Blast! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made these for my Spanish Class (just for fun) and they were a hit! I made them at 5:30 am and they were still slightly warm when served. I added some mini semi-sweet chocolate chips to the top. I also doubled the recipe. The batter is quite thick and nothing like you might expect for a brownie recipe so don't be discouraged! These were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good brownie recipe. I added the suggested 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and yes it was a very thick batter but it made it thick enough that I could press it into my pan with my hands. I used a 8 X 12 pyrex dish and used a single batter didnt double like a lot of people did and it came out fine however I wouldnt want to go much bigger than that. Keeping this recipe pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States