Brown Sugar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
these were very good. when doubled, they fit perfectly into a 13 X 9 pan. however, a full teaspoon of salt was too much, even for the doubled recipe, so i'll just stick to the 1/2t. i frosted these with a caramel coconut frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I must admit that upon making the batter for this brownie, I was skeptical about the outcome. The batter reminded me of chocolate chip cookie dough without the chips. I put the batter into my prepared pan and thought, owe well it was sooooo simple, if it tastes like "junk", I didn't have to feel bad because it took only minutes to make. To my surprise they tasted great. (As if I made them with Maple Syrup) I plan on serving them today (July 4th) warm with some Haagen Daz Strawberry Ice Cream. I also threw a few extra walnuts on top before baking. It made it look nice. Great recipe, simple, easy and I'm sure kids would love to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
GREAT! The Perfect thing about this Recipe is that you can put anything in it. I'm now going to use this for a Base whenever I make Blondies. I did Double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 pan. (for those who have trouble spreading the batter in the pan, you can smooth it out with Wet Hands.) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean R. Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
PERFECT, MOIST! This is the recipe I have been looking for after many many dissapointing recipes. I added just a pinch of cinnamon to the batter and baked in an 8x8 for 27 minutes. WOOOO HOOOO look out Applebees! I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and maple butter sauce. MMMMmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very good - I doubled the recipe (other than the salt - that I kept as 1/2 tsp, and I didn't use the walnuts), and baked these in a 9x13 pan for 25 minutes. I also added 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips, but would be tempted to add more next time. They turned out very nicely - soft, sweet, and just oh so good! I like the fact that you could add almost any bits you wanted - nuts, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, peanut butter chips, whatever. I think you could also frost these if you wanted, or go without. It's a very good, very versatile recipe that I will definitely be keeping around to use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made a few of the blondie recipes on here and they all turned out terrible. This one came out fantastic! I read some reviews on how sticky and thick the batter was so I melted the butter completely and that helped make it easier to spread in an 8 x 8. I cooked it for 27 min. like another reviewer said and they came out perfectly chewy and moist! I did take out the nuts and instead sprinkled a couple handfuls of semi sweet chocolate chips on top. This recipe is definitely going to be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Yummy tasting, but very difficult to spread in a 9x9 pan, even after adding the chocolate chips. There would be no way to get it in a 9x13 pan, so I suggest using 8x8, if not smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I don't know what happened??? The batter was thick and I spread evenly on pan and baked according to directions. Turned out really hard and unedible. Seems like liquid is missing from recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These are delicious ! I wanted to make a 9 x 13 pan so I upped the ingredients as follows: 2 cups sifted flower, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 1/2 cups softened butter, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla and left out the walnuts. I chopped up a white chocolate candy bar and put the pieces on top of the batter. It took about 35 minutes in the 9 x 13 pan. Love this recipe and will use it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
The BEST BROWNIE bar none! It's soft and chocolaty and delicious! If I could give this more stars I would! I took it to a party in an 8x8 pan and by the end of the night people were scrapping the bottom of the pan for crumbs. It was so easy to make, this is the only brownie recipe I will ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States