Brown Sugar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JillyPie87
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was a little skeptical about these seeing how thick my batter was but...I got non stop rave reviews. I added in a handful of semi sweet chocolate chips to give them some flavor. I also doubled this recipe and it just barely fit into a 9x13. These are RICH brownies. I topped them with caramel frosting from this website. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I followed the recipe completely and it was easy to make and it tasted very good. Not too sweet, like you may think it would be. Had compliments when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OMG -- my mom used to make these all the times when we were kids. I lost her recipe and I'm so glad I found it here. I will be making them this Christmas (for Santa - ha ha). They are great! We loved the brownies! An added bonus is the nutritional information is included. It also works well with self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar and baked in a 9x13 for about 25 minutes. I did add chocolate chips to the top of the batter prior to baking. They were excellent! Very eay and all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! Delicious and chewy. This recipe makes only enough for a 9x9 pan so I think I will double next time. I would NOT cut back on the salt. I think the sweet and the saltiness are perfect. Also very easy. I melt the butter and let my kids (4 and 2) do most of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
These were just okay. They had a nice butterscotch flavor but I could taste the salt. The texture was on the dry, cakey side. They were bland on their own, so I would suggest adding some kind of frosting or chips to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I ended up following some of the other reviewers advice and adding chocolate chips (I omitted the walnuts). When I finished the batter I was skeptical because it was very thick, and I didn't think there would be enough to fill the pan, but everything turned out great in the end. I'd recommend baking them for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Really good. The first time I made them, I ran out of brown sugar, so I used 3/4 brown to 1/4 white sugar. They turned out amazing, so I continue to use this ratio! Oh, and I used margarine with no problems whatsoever. As the man-candy says, "these taste like chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really easy to make and were very good. Mine came out more like a cake. Followed the recipe exactly except I topped it with caramel icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
AMAZING. I read the reviews, wondered if it would go terribly wrong if I just followed the directions as is- it didn't. I tend to think the sifting of the flour is a pretty important step here- though I didn't- so I used just a tiny bit less flour, not filling the measuring cup all the way...maybe an 1/8 cup less, if that. My walnut chopping (banging with fist) husband measured more like 3/4 of a cup of walnuts, and we threw in a hastily broken (and partially eaten- ahem, John) Hershey bar in the mix. I did taste the salt in it, but I think it complements the sweetness of the brown sugar and the nuttiness of, well, the nuts. One of the best desserts I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States