Brown Sugar Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OMG -- my mom used to make these all the times when we were kids. I lost her recipe and I'm so glad I found it here. I will be making them this Christmas (for Santa - ha ha). They are great! We loved the brownies! An added bonus is the nutritional information is included. It also works well with self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar and baked in a 9x13 for about 25 minutes. I did add chocolate chips to the top of the batter prior to baking. They were excellent! Very eay and all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! Delicious and chewy. This recipe makes only enough for a 9x9 pan so I think I will double next time. I would NOT cut back on the salt. I think the sweet and the saltiness are perfect. Also very easy. I melt the butter and let my kids (4 and 2) do most of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
These were just okay. They had a nice butterscotch flavor but I could taste the salt. The texture was on the dry, cakey side. They were bland on their own, so I would suggest adding some kind of frosting or chips to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I ended up following some of the other reviewers advice and adding chocolate chips (I omitted the walnuts). When I finished the batter I was skeptical because it was very thick, and I didn't think there would be enough to fill the pan, but everything turned out great in the end. I'd recommend baking them for 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Really good. The first time I made them, I ran out of brown sugar, so I used 3/4 brown to 1/4 white sugar. They turned out amazing, so I continue to use this ratio! Oh, and I used margarine with no problems whatsoever. As the man-candy says, "these taste like chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really easy to make and were very good. Mine came out more like a cake. Followed the recipe exactly except I topped it with caramel icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
AMAZING. I read the reviews, wondered if it would go terribly wrong if I just followed the directions as is- it didn't. I tend to think the sifting of the flour is a pretty important step here- though I didn't- so I used just a tiny bit less flour, not filling the measuring cup all the way...maybe an 1/8 cup less, if that. My walnut chopping (banging with fist) husband measured more like 3/4 of a cup of walnuts, and we threw in a hastily broken (and partially eaten- ahem, John) Hershey bar in the mix. I did taste the salt in it, but I think it complements the sweetness of the brown sugar and the nuttiness of, well, the nuts. One of the best desserts I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
delicious! i used self-rising flour so left out the baking powder and salt. Added sliced almonds and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great easy recipe. I put carmel 'pearls' (the kind you can make carmel apples with) instead of white chocolate & everyone loved them! They became a little harder but still very good! I'll try them with the white chocolate chips next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csantiago1112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States