Brown Sugar Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
very good. Did the same as others, baked in the oven @ 350 for one hour. Added some garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made these in the crockpot. Used Johnsonville "sweet" brats and instead of all water, I used half pineapple juice. The smell of these cooking is IN-sane. I was actually quite surprized by the end result of cooking it in the crockpot. I thought that the onions and apples would be inedible because they cooked for so long but once I drained off all of the liquid, the apples and onions made a kind of relish that went perfectly with the brats. Flavor was very good. Family ate every bite. I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Good. A different way to prepare brats. We have them quite often in Wisconsin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Delicious! Used with deer brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
These were quite good and it's my fault they weren't better-I don't have an electric roaster so I baked them but I made the mistake of covering the pan. If you decide to bake these, I highly recommend you do so uncovered because the brats didn't brown up/caramelize and I had tons of liquid when it was done. My results came out 3* but I'll give it 4 because they would be much better dark and candied as the recipe states, and it's my fault they weren't. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These got the thumbs up from the guys. I had deer brats and wanted to disguise the flavor a bit, so I thought this would work. I don't have a roaster, so I just used a 9x13 in the oven for about an hour. I only had 8 brats thawed, so I used 3 onions and 2 1/2 apples. A nice change from the usual. I would like to try it again with regular brats as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I cut the recipe down to our size since we only had a little over a pound of brats. I also cooked them in the oven at 350 for about an hour and they turned out just right. My husband says he likes the brats cooked this way better than on the grill. But I prefer the brats on the grill. Served this with dinner rolls, potato salad and delicious baked beans. Made a great dinner and something outside the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I have made many recipes from this site, but never rated one ... before now. THESE. WERE. GREAT. Made a few changes: I halved the recipe, used dark brown sugar, and baked in the oven on 350 for one hour. I loved how soft and flavorful they turned out to be. The pan juices, mixed with spicy brown mustard, made the perfect condiment. Thanks for the Great Recipe pljma5!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mawiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made these brats for a staff lunch meeting and they were a hit! So simple and cooked perfectly. Just followed the recipe as is; only changed the number of servings to fit my group. Definitely a hit and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Made this exactly as written the first time around. My husband said he would order these at a pub any day! The second time around, we added garlic and a small, diced jalapeno and loved it even more! We're adding this to the monthly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States