Brown Sugar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
oh, good heavens are these delicious! I was desparate to play with some dough in my dorm and have some breakfast food in my room for when I dash out the door in the morning. I was running low on my baking supplies and didn't have any yeast, so I was very excited to have found a recipe without much preparation time needed. I mixed up some glaze to put on top-oh, how they melted in my mouth! I got a lot of dirty looks when I told others I wasn't sharing (I ended up sharing anyway-grrrr) and now I have only four left. I am going to make these all the time now! talk about giving me a good reason to wake up in the morning! The only modification I made was I mixed the filling together and THEN spread it on the dough-I made a little more filling than called for and poured the extra on the bottom of the baking pan before I placed the rolls in it. This makes them nice and gooy on the one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
From some of the other reviews, it sounded like they were expecting your traditional cinnamon rolls (the kind that requires yeast). These are not like that at all, and what I got are more like what the name suggests: brown sugar and cinnamon biscuits (contrary to what the author of the recipe claims). They have the flaky consistency of biscuits but with a sweet twist. Still very tasty though, and so quick and easy if you're craving cinnamon rolls but don't have all the time needed for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
these biscuits were pretty good! i was surprised after reading all the bad reviews but i decided to give it a try anyway- i was out of cream of tartar so i just skipped that ingredient but it came out great! a tip for others- make sure you flour your surface and hands alot before rolling the dough because it was a little sticky. instead of spreading the butter and then sprinkling brown sugar and cinnamon i mixed all three together and spread it. well, again this recipe rocked! thanks monstermama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Quick and easy. Tasted great. Kids loved them and so did the picky hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I made these rolls again yesterday and they are so fantastic! They are easy and quick and a great knockoff for cinnamon rolls. They bake up a bit flaky but soft and the next day are terrific popped in the microwave. I make a simple cream cheese frosting to top them, pair them with fruit and we are set for breakfast. I will continue to make these great rolls. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
In spite of what the introduction says, these tasted like nothing more than baking powder biscuits with a cinnamon sugar swirl. That in itself was pretty unique. I can also see where one would need to frost with a cream cheese or powdered sugar glaze. Though the instructions say to bake for 15-20 minutes, mine were overbaked at 14. Fresh from the oven, these have a wonderful taste, but after they sit for an hour or so, they taste like a b.p. biscuit with a little cinnamon sugar. Pretty dry for my gang. Thanks anyway, monstermama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I don't know what I did wrong here. My dough was really dry. It wouldn't roll properly and fell apart while I was cutting it. I was so disappointed but somehow the biscuits still turned out great! I'll definitely try it again on a better day. Maybe add a little more brown sugar to the dough next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This is my first attempt at making homemade cinnamon rolls...I had some of the same problems as previous reviewer amberlyn, the dough did fall apart when cutting them but they still turned out pretty good once baked. Not as fluffy as I would have liked but I think that can be improved when I try these again in the future. I drizzled a powdered sugar "sauce" over all and were still tasty despite flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are soooo good! They taste like the cinnamon rolls you make from Bisquick. YUMMY! I can never get the yeast right in regular cinnamon rolls, but I don't have to worry anymore. I used regular Crisco b/c I didn't have butter flavor. I made everything up the night before, sealed it up in plastic wrap, and then cut the biscuits off the roll in the morning. Perfect before school! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great recipe... they turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States