Brown Sugar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I loved this recipe. These are like biscuits or scones not like the soft chewy cinnamon bun ,the texture,is kindda crispy. i made them with half whole wheat flour,and half canola oil and butter and they were lovely cozy little treats. I will certainly make these again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Using 1/4 cup of mild molasses & 1/4 cup of granulated sugar instead of 1/4 cup of brown sugar will keep these "biscuits" a moister, more caramel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I liked the idea behind this recipe, read some of the other reviews and decided to give it a try. I added a hefty sprinkle of cinnamon to the dry ingredients and used real butter, but otherwise I followed the directions. I know that over-kneading dough like this will cause it to be tough, so when the dough did not come together well I scrapped the idea of rolling it out like you would for cinnamon rolls. I shaped it into a circle and cut into into wedges for scones. I rubbed some softened butter on top and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. After baking I drizzled some icing on top and served them to my kids. They were a hit. One of my sons has repeatedly asked for them. They are a fast, easy snack or addition to breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
To sweet, diffently won't make them again. It fell apart on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexander Heights, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I can't stop eating these! They are definitely biscuits and not cinnamon rolls, but delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
It was pkay not that goood tho and i will probably never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I was disappointed considering the rave reviews. Mine came out just like biscuit texture in cinnamon roll form. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domesticadmin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Move over Cinnabun! I used "I can't believe it's not butter light" instead of shortening, skim milk and sprinkled chopped pecans over the brown sugar. My husband went nuts! Will make for the extended family at the next early morning get together. Used the icing at the end too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
The dough for this recipe is very similar to my biscuit recipe. I made these just like I would my biscuits and they came out nice and flaky. I did not use the icing at all. I just kneaded the dough briefly, patted it out and cut with my biscuit cutter and baked. Really have to be careful not to overwork biscuit dough or you will have hard/dry biscuits. My husband said that these tasted like cookies. What a pleasant change of pace to my standard biscuits that I serve. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States