Brown Sugar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Ok so I cut the recipe in half just in case I didn't like it, (plus I had just enough cinnamon.) but now u wish u hadn't. These are do delicious and warm and just soooo good! Mine don't look as pretty but I can fix that next time. Oh and I just added more baking powder for cream of tartar plus I used butter for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Excellent, everyone loves it!!! I make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great recipe... they turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were really good — similar to a less sweet version of a cinnamon roll. I made these as stated with the exception of using butter in place of butter-flavored shortening (I never use shortening!). Make sure to roll the long side of the dough up and not the short side :). When I rolled mine out and cut into 12 slices, they looked pretty small, but don’t worry, they will rise! Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have not made these cookies, but the women in our family used to make these from left over dough after the pies were done. It stems back many generations and in french families, they are called "pete de soeur". Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent! I put a teaspoon of vanilla and a half teaspoon of almond extract in the biscuit dough. To die for! I can't have cinnamon, so I left that out and the inside of the rolls turned out like brown sugar caramel. We really loved this recipe and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Family loved, not too sweet. I drizzled a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I was anxious to try this recipe since I always make pinwheels with my left over pie crust and these sounded similar. They were excellent. Believe it or not, I was out of milk this morning but I did have buttermilk so I substituted that. And I noticed that I needed to add a little more buttermilk than the 2/3 cup that recipe called for in order to make a good dough. But I didn't measure it. Another 'glob' maybe? I'm so pleased to have a cinnamon roll recipe that didn't require yeast and proofing. Not sure why some people weren't happy with the results. I was and will definitely make again!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
These have the texture of a biscuits but look like a cinnamon roll. They were fast and easy to make. I had no trouble rolling or cutting them. My only change was to use 1/4 c. butter & 1/4 c. shortening because I didn't have the butter flavored shortening. It seemed to work fine. Also, next time I may cut the cinnamon to 4 tsp and increase the brown sugar. Thanks for an easy sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States