Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Superb. Like others, I always sprinkle brown sugar on top. One thing I'd note to anyone making a banana bread for the first time: Trust your instincts! Bananas vary, so if yours aren't very sweet, add more sugar. If yours are especially moist, add a bit of extra flour (the finished dough should be like a thick muffin batter). This recipe is forgiving enough to work even without these alterations, but a sense of adventure really helps take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
For probably 40 years I have made a banana bread with a recipe I got from a wonderful home ec teacher which included sour cream. Since I didn't have sour cream, I made this recipe. This is good, but more cake-like...not nearly as rich or dense as my old favorite banana bread which I will continue to make. The sour cream must be what makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Absolutely delicious! It was my first banana nut bread, and it was easy and turned out perfect. I used three bananas and about 1 1/2 cups walnuts, and I had to bake it a little longer, about 1hour and 20 minutes. I will definitely make this again! Big plus: no need for fancy ingredients, I could make it with what I had at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This recipe's instructions tells you to alternately mix milk and flour mixture. The ingredients do not list milk. Please let us know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I would suggest only three bananas other wise this is excellant, to many bananas makes it hard to get done, and falls apart very easily, but flavor was excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARMED_TWICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Excellent flavor and easy to make. I added 1/3 cup of sour cream for added moisture and then topped the bread with vanilla frosting. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I previously reviewed this recipe and gave it 4 1/2 stars, very yummy. My whole family loves this bread. I just made it again for the first time since we moved to CO. I was worried about the altitude, so I added about 1/4 c. flour and made no other changes, except to sprinkle about 2 TBSP brown sugar on the top before baking. It turned out wonderful! Only had to bake for 50 mins. My son could not keep his hands off! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Very moist and cake-like. It made my whole house smell delicious! I will make this recipe again and again. The brown sugar gave it a tasty crust. I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 3 large bananas and one whole cup of nuts (I used pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This was an easy recipe but my husband and I were the only ones that liked it. my kids didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
It was the easiest receipe from scratch. Love the vanilla taste and the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States