Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I don't understand how this recipe had such high reviews! All I can imagine is that the past reviewers have never had good banana bread. My whole family tasted it and we all agree-yes it was very moist but it had a terrible bitter aftertaste. I followed everything to the letter and that must have been the problem. I have to attribute that taste to the 3 tsp. of baking powder. I had thought it seemed like a lot but went with it. Upon looking at some other recipes, I see that yes this is a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Another reviewer refers to milk being added in but there's no milk mentioned in either the recipe or the ingredients. Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread Recipe II calls for 1/2 a cup less flour but adds in 1/2 a cup of milk. Next time I'm following that, and maybe using 2 teaspoons of Baking Powder instead of 3. My loaf rose beautifully high (almost too high) but turned out rather dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wonderful recipe, I've made it a couple times. My newest customization includes approximately one cup of grated carrots and a quarter cup minced fresh ginger in place of the walnuts. I also swap out the white flour for wholewheat and add one teaspoon ground cinnamon and a half teaspoon nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made this for my parents so I actually never got to taste it....but Mom said it was delicious! Moist, very banana-y and they love walnuts, so this bread was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Soooooo wonderful but we use 5 bananas and they are bananas that were waaaaaay ripe and then put in freezer(not peeled, just how you bought 'em at the store). They have usually been in the freezer for a LOOOOOONG time, months and months even. They seem to make the best:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very, very good. LOTS of banana flavor and the brown sugar and vanilla don't overpower, as I was thinking they might. A little on the greasy side with all that butter, which is the only negative from my point of view.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The bread turned out pretty and light but it tasted too strong of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This recipe sounds better than it tastes. I followed it to a T and it turned out pretty "cakey" and not as thick and heavy as I like my banana bread. Seems like it could use more banana flavor, too. It's definitely edible, just not what I was looking for. 3.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
THE best banana bread I've ever made or tried! It was rich and sweet and flavorful! I sprinkled a layer of brown sugar across the top during the last 15 minutes of baking to give it a crunchy-sweet crust. We were also out of nuts, but it was just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States