Brown Sugar Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Phenomenal banana bread recipe! Very flavorful, moist and full of great banana flavor. I only made a couple minor mods to the original recipe: I cut the butter down to 2 tbl., only used 1/2 c. brown sugar and substituted whole wheat four for the AP. With the flour switch, I was nervous that the texture would be 'off,' but I was wrong! It turned out super moist and perfect...and the sweetness from the 4 bananas more than made up for the brown sugar I cut out. Excellent recipe...will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I lightened this bread up just a touch--not by much. I got 12 large muffins and 8 mini-muffins. 350 for 20 minutes for the large muffins and 10 minutes for the mini-muffins. Very moist and lightly spiced. Is there anything more comforting than homemade banana bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a very good banana bread! The first time I made it, it didn't turn out so well. The second time was much better. I beat the butter (real, usalted) and sugar a lot longer and used 3 large bananas. I use skim milk and dark brown sugar, since that's what I had on hand, and 1/4 tsp. regular salt instead of kosher. I found that it took about 60 minutes to bake, instead of 40. The bread still didn't rise that much, but at least it didn't sink in the middle like the last time! I made a topping of 3 Tbsp. brown sugar mixed with 1 tsp. cinnamon. The thing I like most about this bread is the "soft" texture, which must be attributed to the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Bread tastes great! Made recipe this afternoon. Like the idea of putting soft bananas in a zip-type bag and smashing. Recipe took a bit longer to make then stated, but turned out so much better this time. The first time loaf ended up in the trash; I mixed milk & egg while cold - bread sank in middle after removing from oven. This afternoon mixing brown sugar and butter took 14 minutes rather than 1-2 minutes. Using an Oster stand mixer; I mixed on the #10 setting (grind) for 10 minutes, holding bowl with one hand to keep it from spinning too fast. Added 4 minutes on #5 (whip setting). Mix didn't get fluffy, but was light. Brought milk and egg to room temperature (abt 1 hr). Items blended much better than using cooler ingredients like the 1st time. Lowered speed to #3 (puree) and combined last 4 items; batter looked more like rippled waves on a beachfront rather than being smooth. Before pouring mix into loaf pan, I hand mixed batter with spatula to get bits of mashed bananas to smooth out. Baking time was about 43 min. Finished loaf tasted great after cooling a bit, but much better after being in frig 4-5 days. Tastes great by self, or putting a light coat of butter or dopple of whipped cream on slice. (Hard to stop at one piece.) Not overly sweet; just right for folks who don't tolerate a sweet sugary taste. I'm glad I gave this recipe a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I couldn't wait to review!! I wanted to review before it was done but I held on. I followed the recipe to the letter. After 40 minutes it looked beautiful and smelled even better, but the toothpick came out WET! I thought I did something wrong. I put it back in another 10 minutes and still wet. I came back to read the reviews and was so relieved to see so many other people say it took 60 minutes or more. WHEW! I put some foil over top so my beautiful brown crust on top wouldn't burn and turned the oven off, then put it back in and just let it set. Sorry but I didn't pay attention to how long it took, I was doing dishes. The pick came out clean when it took it out. It's moist and so yummy (I ate it warm, it was too tempting!). Oh, I did make one teeny addition... after I put it in the pan I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top for the sparkly crusty top. That's it! YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is the best banana bread I have ever had or made. Very moist. I doubled the recipe and used a large loaf pan, a regular loaf pan and a large muffin pan. The regular loaf pan turned out perfect at 40 minutes, the muffins were perfect at 20 minutes and the large pan had to cook to long for the bottom of the bread to survive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Excellent! Baked for 60 minutes in an air-bake pan; 40 minutes wasn't enough. Very moist-one of the best banana breads I've made. I tried this recipe because I was out of white sugar and had bananas to use up. Added a handful of chocolate chips to the mix for fun and sprinkled oats mixed with brown sugar on top before I baked it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It's not bad, but it did take over an hour to bake as indicated in other reviews. Very moist, but I wasn't wowed by the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Followed recipe except for adding pecans and it turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe and it made three 3x7 disposable loaf pans perfectly. I did have to cook them about 10 minutes longer than called for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
We LOVED THIS!!!! Thank you! So moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States