Brown Sugar Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
A very delicious bread! I made sure to follow the advice of some of the other reviewers so my bread wouldn't sink in the middle. I beat my butter and sugar for a good bit, probably about 7-8 minutes. I also let my egg come up to room temperature before using it and warmed the milk up a bit in the microwave. I only ended up using 3 medium bananas since that was all I had on hand. My bread took 50 minutes to bake instead of 40, but came out perfect on the first try! It had just the amount of banana flavor that I like and was incredibly soft from the brown sugar! The cinnamon was a great compliment to the bananas as well. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a very good banana bread! The first time I made it, it didn't turn out so well. The second time was much better. I beat the butter (real, usalted) and sugar a lot longer and used 3 large bananas. I use skim milk and dark brown sugar, since that's what I had on hand, and 1/4 tsp. regular salt instead of kosher. I found that it took about 60 minutes to bake, instead of 40. The bread still didn't rise that much, but at least it didn't sink in the middle like the last time! I made a topping of 3 Tbsp. brown sugar mixed with 1 tsp. cinnamon. The thing I like most about this bread is the "soft" texture, which must be attributed to the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This bread was very moist, had just the right amount of sugar, and tasted scrumptuous. The banana flavor really shined through; I added some chocolate chips and chopped walnuts, which gave it an interesting texture. This is my go-to banana bread recipe from now on. It reminds me of the dominican recipe "Pan de Batata" except you would call this "Pan de Guineo". Tastes exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed it! definately needed closer to 60min baking time and there are no directions for cooling??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Bread tastes great! Made recipe this afternoon. Like the idea of putting soft bananas in a zip-type bag and smashing. Recipe took a bit longer to make then stated, but turned out so much better this time. The first time loaf ended up in the trash; I mixed milk & egg while cold - bread sank in middle after removing from oven. This afternoon mixing brown sugar and butter took 14 minutes rather than 1-2 minutes. Using an Oster stand mixer; I mixed on the #10 setting (grind) for 10 minutes, holding bowl with one hand to keep it from spinning too fast. Added 4 minutes on #5 (whip setting). Mix didn't get fluffy, but was light. Brought milk and egg to room temperature (abt 1 hr). Items blended much better than using cooler ingredients like the 1st time. Lowered speed to #3 (puree) and combined last 4 items; batter looked more like rippled waves on a beachfront rather than being smooth. Before pouring mix into loaf pan, I hand mixed batter with spatula to get bits of mashed bananas to smooth out. Baking time was about 43 min. Finished loaf tasted great after cooling a bit, but much better after being in frig 4-5 days. Tastes great by self, or putting a light coat of butter or dopple of whipped cream on slice. (Hard to stop at one piece.) Not overly sweet; just right for folks who don't tolerate a sweet sugary taste. I'm glad I gave this recipe a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
really good! I added 1/4-1/2 cup choco chips, 1 melted semi sweet square of baking chocolate, and 1/2 c chopped nuts to the recipe. I put the batter in a oversized muffin pan and sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar and baked for ~30min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
4 1/2 stars. Omited salt. very tasty. thx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Harvey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Excellent! Baked for 60 minutes in an air-bake pan; 40 minutes wasn't enough. Very moist-one of the best banana breads I've made. I tried this recipe because I was out of white sugar and had bananas to use up. Added a handful of chocolate chips to the mix for fun and sprinkled oats mixed with brown sugar on top before I baked it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Really good. I simply mashed the bananas w a fork & added to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States