Brown Sugar Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I couldn't wait to review!! I wanted to review before it was done but I held on. I followed the recipe to the letter. After 40 minutes it looked beautiful and smelled even better, but the toothpick came out WET! I thought I did something wrong. I put it back in another 10 minutes and still wet. I came back to read the reviews and was so relieved to see so many other people say it took 60 minutes or more. WHEW! I put some foil over top so my beautiful brown crust on top wouldn't burn and turned the oven off, then put it back in and just let it set. Sorry but I didn't pay attention to how long it took, I was doing dishes. The pick came out clean when it took it out. It's moist and so yummy (I ate it warm, it was too tempting!). Oh, I did make one teeny addition... after I put it in the pan I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top for the sparkly crusty top. That's it! YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Followed recipe except for adding pecans and it turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe and it made three 3x7 disposable loaf pans perfectly. I did have to cook them about 10 minutes longer than called for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It's not bad, but it did take over an hour to bake as indicated in other reviews. Very moist, but I wasn't wowed by the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
We LOVED THIS!!!! Thank you! So moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Phenomenal banana bread recipe! Very flavorful, moist and full of great banana flavor. I only made a couple minor mods to the original recipe: I cut the butter down to 2 tbl., only used 1/2 c. brown sugar and substituted whole wheat four for the AP. With the flour switch, I was nervous that the texture would be 'off,' but I was wrong! It turned out super moist and perfect...and the sweetness from the 4 bananas more than made up for the brown sugar I cut out. Excellent recipe...will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is the BEST Recipe EVER!!!!!!! SOOOO YUMMMMMYY!!!! I Wish I could give it 10 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is the best banana bread I have ever had or made. Very moist. I doubled the recipe and used a large loaf pan, a regular loaf pan and a large muffin pan. The regular loaf pan turned out perfect at 40 minutes, the muffins were perfect at 20 minutes and the large pan had to cook to long for the bottom of the bread to survive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I lightened this bread up just a touch--not by much. I got 12 large muffins and 8 mini-muffins. 350 for 20 minutes for the large muffins and 10 minutes for the mini-muffins. Very moist and lightly spiced. Is there anything more comforting than homemade banana bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a good banana bread that stays moist. It's not the best I've ever had, but it's high on the list. It did take 65 minutes, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
A very delicious bread! I made sure to follow the advice of some of the other reviewers so my bread wouldn't sink in the middle. I beat my butter and sugar for a good bit, probably about 7-8 minutes. I also let my egg come up to room temperature before using it and warmed the milk up a bit in the microwave. I only ended up using 3 medium bananas since that was all I had on hand. My bread took 50 minutes to bake instead of 40, but came out perfect on the first try! It had just the amount of banana flavor that I like and was incredibly soft from the brown sugar! The cinnamon was a great compliment to the bananas as well. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States