Brown Sugar Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The first time I made this, I only had three small bananas and it cooked perfectly in the amount of time in the original recipe, but didn't have that intense banana taste. When I made it again with the full amount of bananas, it came out VERY moist and I had to cook it much longer, as other people have mentioned, and it didn't hold together as well. So, this most recent time I used whole wheat flour instead of the AP flour (cup for cup) and it cooked closer to the 40 minutes and held together better. I do like it denser. I also sprinkled some turbinado (raw) sugar across the top. Despite the multiple tries, it was an easy recipe to follow and adjust, and tasted delicious each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
the taste wasn't bad but after baking for 60 minutes at 350 it was getting burned on the outside and still not done in the inside... I ended with nice tasting leader like bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
After nearly 50 min. In a 350 degree oven, the middle was still gooey! Part that was done was good but threw away 2/3 ! Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made this banana bread today. It turned out very well. I followed the recipe very closely. The only thing I added was 1 cup of chopped walnuts. I also baked mine in a muffin tin. The muffins were done in about 30 minutes. Since bananas vary in size, I used 4 ripe bananas. I mashed mine with a fork just as I usually do. I measured them. I had just a little over one cup. The flavor is excellent. The muffins are very tender. This is now my favorite banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
If you use real ripe bananas there isn't a problem of mixing them. I put ripe ones in the freezer until I need them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The aroma of this banana bread baking told me it was going to be something totally wonderful! And I was not mistaken! The only thing is it has to bake extra, but that just adds to that wonderful aroma! Yum also on the eating part! So moist and delicious! Thanks D Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Excellent and moist. My only changes was to decrease the brown sugar to just 1c and I used fat free half and half instead of whole milk. I also use 5 smallish /med bananas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Love this recipe! I love using brown sugar however I was out so i used regular sugar and used a 1/2 cup of wheat flour along with the 1 1/2 cup of flour. So I made some adjustments. But still was moist and delicious I think it has to do with the cinnamon and vanilla. Next time I will do the recipe exact and I bet I only like it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This recipe sounded yummy. I made it exactly like the recipe says but added 2oz. of chopped walnuts and a dash of nutmeg. It's baking in the oven now but the batter was delicious! I'm sure it's gonna be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I couldn't wait to review!! I wanted to review before it was done but I held on. I followed the recipe to the letter. After 40 minutes it looked beautiful and smelled even better, but the toothpick came out WET! I thought I did something wrong. I put it back in another 10 minutes and still wet. I came back to read the reviews and was so relieved to see so many other people say it took 60 minutes or more. WHEW! I put some foil over top so my beautiful brown crust on top wouldn't burn and turned the oven off, then put it back in and just let it set. Sorry but I didn't pay attention to how long it took, I was doing dishes. The pick came out clean when it took it out. It's moist and so yummy (I ate it warm, it was too tempting!). Oh, I did make one teeny addition... after I put it in the pan I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top for the sparkly crusty top. That's it! YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States