Brown Sugar Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have never made banana bread before, and for a first time, this was great! I maybe kinda sorta didn't follow all the instructions (aka mixing all the ingredients at once) but it still came out fantastic! I was a little short of banana, so I only used one. I think That might have been the reason why it was a little dry, but my mistake! Great quick recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inmelda Rangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
If you plan on making only one loaf, be sure to use about 2 1/2 - 3 bananas. If you cut down the serving size, it will tell you to use 4. It was good, but it turned out really gooey inside. Also maybe cut down on the butter on this. Still good! I added coconut flakes inside, and topped the batter with some coconut as well and dribbled some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was one of the best banana breads that I ever made!!!!So moist and will be making this alot!!!The only thing I did was cut down on the salt to 1/4t of it.I am not a salt lover and the less I use the better...I made a loaf for my 4yr granddaughter but my son and I loved the smell of it so I guess I will be making another one for her today...Thanks for the recipe!!!A keeper always!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
As most reviews have said....this takes more than 40 min to bake in a loaf pan, in fact the picture shown looks like it was baked in a cake pan as well....I will not make this again, too fussy as well, I am still waiting to take my from the oven after 65 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tim
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The basic recipe has an error. Every banana bread recipe on earth for this batch size calls for 2 eggs. That may have something to do with the "gloppy middle" others have reported. I halved this recipe and baked it in a casserole dish in a toaster oven (using 1 egg & 375F) and it came out perfectly at 40 min bake time. My wet ingredients were cold, contrary to cake-baking 101. I added a little more flour until the batter had the right consistency. Also, 1 cup brown sugar is enough (1/2 in my case), not 1 1/4c. It got a little brown on top, but that's due to the toaster oven element being so close. Flavor was perfect; texture was perfect, and was cooked perfectly all the way through. I added walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is one of my favourite banana bread recipes, every time I have made it its turned out moist and flavourful. However, both times I have made this recipe the cook time of 40 minutes has not been sufficient. Rather I have found that the cook time of 1 hour works better to unsure the bread is cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
came out great with caramelized edges. I love the flavor and it was super easy to make. I actually just added all the wet ingredients to the bag when I mushed up the bananas and it worked out well. It did take closer to 60 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroche1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Needs to bake more than 40 minutes. Moist, but nothing in flavour to make this stand out from other banana breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. It's moist & flavorful. I don't bake it as 1 loaf b/c I get either a doughy center or burnt edges. I would recommend splitting the batch into 2 loaves. You could also do what I do & make 8 mini loaves. This makes portions so I don't overeat like a PIG! This bread is so good & the loaves freeze so I can make multiple batches at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
made this recipe twice now and my gang just loves it!! the only thing I add is chopped walnuts.. the best banana bread ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States