Brown Sugar Bacon Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
What a great twist on waffles.These are actually belgian waffles and they puff up A LOT! I'd recommend using a belgian waffle maker. I used a regular waffle iron and had to be sure not to shut it all the way or the batter would spill out,even with less batter used. I found that if I held it almost shut, but not completely, that the batter fluffs up so much it'll still reach the top of the iron to cook. You can also freeze leftovers in sealable bags. Just stick them in the oven at 250 degrees just til warmed. Great recipe! I even made extra bacon and ate it alone! If you're looking for a strong bacon flavor I suggest using more than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
WinCo had bacon on sale this week so this was a fun new way for me to use it in something homemade. These turned out absolutely perfect. i used whole wheat white flour but other than that, I made no other changes. HUGE hit. HUGE. My husband and kids ate every single one. For me, next time I'd use a better quality bacon. I used a cheap bacon and the results weren't as great as I'd hoped. My family didn't care--I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEmRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osage Beach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
yummy! I used a bisquick shortcut, but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These are very good, but definitely need more bacon! Next time I will add a slice to the mix (I halved the recipe) and make 2 extra to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I saw this and had to try it out! I decided to go the easy route and use Bisquick with the added brown sugar, vanilla and brown sugar-baked bacon. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
these were good. Next time I'll use more bacon (10 slices) and double the brown sugar in the batter. The flavors are good, but need to be enhanced more. We enjoyed these though, and can't wait to make again with the improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenEileen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Hmmmm...different. It's actually easier than it sounds. It makes a lot! We never could quite adjust to having bacon in our waffles, but we did like them. Didn't love them, but enjoyed trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by Ms. SassyRoo
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made half a batch, and substituted 1/2 cup of corn meal in place of flour. My Husband LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. SassyRoo

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
GOOD! BUT I DID CHEAT- I USED HUNGRY JACK PANCAKE MIX- ADDED A DASH OF CINNAMON AND EXTRA BACON- THANKS FOR THE GREAT IDEA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States