Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Wow, so easy and YUMMY! Like another reviewer I didn't have the soup, so I used Lipton onion soup mix and a cup of hot water. Plus I didn't add the basil, as it didn't seem to fit with the other ingredients. Regardless this was fantastic!!! EDITED TO ADD - I've done this with brown rice too and it needed to bake for 75 minutes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I didn't have white rice so I used instant brown rice, and it turned out incredible!!! I have never been a fan of rice, but my husband is. I can't thank you enough Monica! This is one of those dishes that makes people think you slaved in the kitchen, but it's SO simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Simple delicious rice. Too much basil! I cut it back to 1 tsp and its perfect. I also cut the butter in half. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I made this last night for company, and while the flavor was good, it didn't ever finish cooking. I followed the advice of other reviewers and subbed brown rice for white rice. Instead of beef broth I used beef consomme, and I added a small can (drained) of sliced mushrooms. I also added approximately 1 tsp. of herbes de provece (instead of 1 tbsp. of basil) to go with the chicken I made using that herb mixture. I baked it covered at 350 for 1 hour as the recipe said, and it never finished cooking. There was still tons of liquid, and the rice was still totally hard. I then popped it in the microwave for about 8 minutes uncovered, and it was getting there but never quite finished cooking. At that point I really needed to serve dinner so I did, and man, was I embarassed about the rice! While the flavor really was good (quite rich and tasty), the rice was HARD and uncooked. I might try using white rice and just bake it longer next time, but I might just try another recipe. There are plenty on here that sound similar and will probaby be better (at least I hope!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I've been making this for years, minus the basil and Worcestershire sauce. It comes out perfect every time. It's ideal to take for potluck when you don't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen, as it only uses one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Very good recipe! I didn't have any french onion soup on hand, so I used Lipton Onion Soup mix with a cup of hot water. I'll be sure to make it again using the french onion soup, but until then, my husband and I have some very tasty leftover brown rice to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this recipe with brown rice instead of white and it was fantastic. My husband and my 13 year old daughter both went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I'm not sure why this recipe calls for basil because it really is not needed. I added a pinch but next time I will not add any at all. Was still good and would make again! Easy side dish to any meal! Thanks Monica for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this as a side for a country style crock-pot ribs and it was absolutely perfect and delicious. I used brown rice instead of white and I didn't have french onion soup so I used chicken broth with onion and black pepper spices and worcestershire sauce instead. I also added some fresh parsley into the mix. It was a great side for my dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michavissar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I definitely would NOT put a whole tablespoon of basil. I used one teaspoon, and it was quite enough to taste it, and more than enough to give lots of flavor to the dish. Otherwise, it was pretty good, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States