Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Terrific and easy! While it does take longer than an hour to bake, it is well worth it. This will be in our rotation. I made the following changes- brown rice instead of white, 32oz of beef broth PLUS an extra cup of water, package of lipton's onion soup, sliced mushrooms, cream of mushroom. I sauteed red onion & garlic in evoo. We enjoy our food more flavorful, so I added paprika, herbs de provence, basil, kirkland's(costco) no salt seasoning mix, and a dash kosher salt & fresh ground black pepper. Next time I will nuts and maybe water chestnuts. I cooked it covered in my Pampered Chef covered baker for 1 hr @350 and 30 min @375. I think next time I will baked the dish @375, which I think reduce the time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this recipe just as written only I used brown rice. When cooking brown rice you have to lengthen the cooking time by half hour, though. Love the recipe, MEGSCOOKIN, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I needed something to make with the venison backstrapes I was grilling and this was easy and foolproof. I didn't have the soup or broth so used 1 cube of beef bouillon and a package of onion soup mix. I also saw some of the reviews about to much basil being used and I had some fresh parsley and button mushrooms that needed to be used up, so in they went.The dish needed to be baked for 90 minutes, but in the end it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Excellent rice dish. My 5 year old had multiple helpings! We ate the whole dish in one evening. Omitted most of the basil, but kept the rest of the recipe the same. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I made it to go with Slow Cooker Pepper Steak (also from this site) and it was delicious! I didn't add the basil and when I took it out at the half time I added some fresh chopped mushrooms and I would definitely do that again. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anaiyia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was really good. I used jasmine rice because I didn't have regular long grain rice and it turned out great. I didn't use the basil and it was fine. Mine was done in 1 hour. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was good. The only problem was that even after an hour it was still not cooked enough. I should have left it in for another 15-20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Pretty good... I thought it would taste more like dirty rice. Tasted more like the rice in chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Also substituted 1 pkg. Lipton's French Onion Dry Soup Mix and cooked on stovetop following cooking time recommended by brown rice package (45 minutes). Came out so flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Excellent! Used Onion Soup Mix and extra cup of water, and less basil. I did add 1 small can Ortega Diced Green Chilies. Adds flavor, not heat. I was trying to rush dinner, so I microwaved 5 minutes covered before putting it in the oven at 365 degrees. Fortunately I checked it at 30 minutes as it was done! P.S. This was made with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenebeader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Veneta, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States