Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Excellent rice dish. My 5 year old had multiple helpings! We ate the whole dish in one evening. Omitted most of the basil, but kept the rest of the recipe the same. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was excellent! I made it to go with Slow Cooker Pepper Steak (also from this site) and it was delicious! I didn't add the basil and when I took it out at the half time I added some fresh chopped mushrooms and I would definitely do that again. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anaiyia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was really good. I used jasmine rice because I didn't have regular long grain rice and it turned out great. I didn't use the basil and it was fine. Mine was done in 1 hour. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was good. The only problem was that even after an hour it was still not cooked enough. I should have left it in for another 15-20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Pretty good... I thought it would taste more like dirty rice. Tasted more like the rice in chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Also substituted 1 pkg. Lipton's French Onion Dry Soup Mix and cooked on stovetop following cooking time recommended by brown rice package (45 minutes). Came out so flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Excellent! Used Onion Soup Mix and extra cup of water, and less basil. I did add 1 small can Ortega Diced Green Chilies. Adds flavor, not heat. I was trying to rush dinner, so I microwaved 5 minutes covered before putting it in the oven at 365 degrees. Fortunately I checked it at 30 minutes as it was done! P.S. This was made with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenebeader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Veneta, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was great!!! I had been hunting for a rice dish I could fix in the oven and this is a keeper! I did cut the butter in half as suggested by other members. I think next time, I'll add some fresh herbs and/or almonds/nuts of some kind to this, for color/texture, but this is great like it is! Thanks so much! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
To me, this rice lacked flavor. I feel it tasted better the second day as leftovers, maybe the flavors had time to settle in a little more. I doubt I'll make it again, but if you like a milder flavored oniony rice, this might be for you. PS, I used brown rice and precooked it a little bit. Maybe that wasn't a good idea. We don't eat white rice, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The best brown rice recipe I have tried. I used a packet of dry onion soup mix and 1 cup of water in place of the can of onion soup, as others suggested. I forgot the worsteshire sauce, and added only about a teaspoon of basil. As far as, needing longer cooking time in the oven, I cooked it at 400 degrees for an hour, leaving it uncovered the first 15 minutes, to allow the temperature to rise quickly, then covered it to retain the moisture. I stirred occasionally. I also added a can of mushroom peices. Very good. Served with salmon and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States