Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family has made this recipe for years - it's a staple. For those wanting to substitute brown rice and wondering why it's not working.. brown rice takes a significantly longer time to cook. I say pair this dish with a healthy side and indulge in the regular rice. Such a perfect classic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great recipe when I took into account the modifications from previous users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This turned out pretty good. I used white rice. Next time I will use brown rice. My kids thought I was making meatloaf by the smell while it was cooking. And they said it tasted like meatloaf so it was nicknamed meatloaf rice lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Delicious! Followed recipe to a 'T' (well, except I left out the basil) and it turned out perfect! Picky husband enjoyed it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The reviewer who said this was rice for people who don't like rice was right, but was wrong when she went on to say that if you like rice, you won't like this. We eat lots of rice, plain and otherwise. We all loved this. I had to use the dry onion soup mix recipe from this site because of my gluten allergy, but otherwise made per original recipe. Delicious! I might try it with a little less worcestershire sauce next time, just to see how that is. This would be great with ground beef, ala hamburger helper, or add a little soy sauce and use it in a beef stir-fry. VERY tasty stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My family loves this!!! I also have added 4-8 oz of sliced fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Omitted French onion soup (none in the pantry) and used brown rice. Good easy dish that would complement lots of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I was short on time so i combined all ingredients in a large sauce pan brought it to a boil. Then i put a lid on to cover and lower the temp to med-low cooked for 20 mins or until the liquid is mostly gone it was perfect. Oh i only use 1/2 tsp basil but everything else was as the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Good rice! I used chicken broth and brown rice because that is what I had---I did not put the basil in it---doesn't really go with the other flavors. If you use brown rice, it's going to take about 20 minutes longer than white rice! Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSAILI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is a super flavorful dish. I'm glad i started it very early because it took over 2 hours to cook. I used long grain brown rice. At an hour, the liquid was absorbed but the rice was not done. I added in a cup of water. 30 minutes later, it was still undercooked so i added in another half cup. Just keep checking it if you are using brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snosin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States