Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Sounds delish and I know a friend that used this recipe for a wedding dinner and it was a real hit. I have to laugh though at the people that give it a low rating but say "I used this and not that, and I cooked it this long and not that long, and I added this but not that" how silly, why rate the recipe at all if you're not going to follow the directions and then complain when it doesn't come out right. No duh!!--you didn't even use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I agree with some people saying it was a little too overpowering. I really can't tell if it's because of the basil or the entire can of onion soup. I like it but did feel sick after! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
nice, did this one in the pressure cooker for 18 minutes.... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Thought it was delicious! Made exactly according to the recipe. and different from the other reviewers, we all really liked the basil in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great base recipe and nice flavor minus the Worcestershire sauce & soy sauce. The first time I cooked it I made it with all the ingredients and found it a tad spicy. I never had 2 hours or the patience to make rice so I'm rating this on the way I have made it; which is on the stove top. Directions: 1)Melt 2 Tbsps of butter over medium heat. Once melted, saute the rice until starting to brown 3-5 min; stirring frequently so that it won't burn. 2) Add the can of beef broth and can of french onion soup (omit Worcestershire, soy sauce and pepper), stir to combine, bring to a boil, lower heat to Low, cover and cook 20 min. Let stand for 10 min with lid on, fluff with a fork and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I've made this several times and it's delicious! I also used onion soup mix with water but I throw it all in a rice cooker and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My entire family loved it. I love that it is so simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Made this recipe exactly as written (except made and used the onion soup mix from this site). Incredibly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My family loves this recipe. Here's my trick to ensure the rice gets done in the hour it calls for: I heat up the broth and onion soup before I mix with the rice and put it in the oven. I, too, use brown rice, which has a longer cooking time, so doing this trick helps a lot. This rice compliments a lot of different suppers, so I use this recipe time and time again. I also add different things to it sometimes such as mushrooms, peas, diced up carrots, etc. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States