Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This recipe was very good! I want to eat more brown rice instead of white rice and stumbled upon this recipe. Brown rice always tastes like cardboard to me, but this was very good! I used the suggestions as others mentioned; brown rice instead of white rice, baked 1 1/2 hours instead of 1 hour and used only 1 tsp. of basil instead of 1 tbsp. Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Best brown rice I've ever eaten! Loved, Loved, Loved it. I went with a couple of reviews I had read and cut the basil and Worcestershire sauce from my recipe; and like most I didn't have the soup but I did have the Lipton mix. I also used a beef bouillon in place of the broth, so altogether I used 2 cups of water( 1 to dissolve the bouillon and the other for the onion mix). I cooked my rice according to the instructions and it was perfectly cooked. I will definitely be eating brown rice more often Now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkmerr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Sorry! Used all the ingredients as told but, it didn't work for us. My husband rarely dislikes my food but today, he actually told me to "take care of the rest"... Don't know, guess the cans were too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Excellent rice. No changes to ingredients, oven temperature, or cooking time. To those who change the recipe up and then give bad reviews because you don't like what you cooked, shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Hudson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Sounds delish and I know a friend that used this recipe for a wedding dinner and it was a real hit. I have to laugh though at the people that give it a low rating but say "I used this and not that, and I cooked it this long and not that long, and I added this but not that" how silly, why rate the recipe at all if you're not going to follow the directions and then complain when it doesn't come out right. No duh!!--you didn't even use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I agree with some people saying it was a little too overpowering. I really can't tell if it's because of the basil or the entire can of onion soup. I like it but did feel sick after! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
nice, did this one in the pressure cooker for 18 minutes.... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Thought it was delicious! Made exactly according to the recipe. and different from the other reviewers, we all really liked the basil in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great base recipe and nice flavor minus the Worcestershire sauce & soy sauce. The first time I cooked it I made it with all the ingredients and found it a tad spicy. I never had 2 hours or the patience to make rice so I'm rating this on the way I have made it; which is on the stove top. Directions: 1)Melt 2 Tbsps of butter over medium heat. Once melted, saute the rice until starting to brown 3-5 min; stirring frequently so that it won't burn. 2) Add the can of beef broth and can of french onion soup (omit Worcestershire, soy sauce and pepper), stir to combine, bring to a boil, lower heat to Low, cover and cook 20 min. Let stand for 10 min with lid on, fluff with a fork and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Best Brown Butter Salted Rice Krispies® Treats

Delicious, gourmet, adult-friendly Rice Krispies® treats.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States