Brown Rice and Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I used chopped onions instead of chives, and soy milk instead of cow's milk. Great tasting breakfast instead of pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
About as good as it gets. The taste is spectacular, they're filling, they're cheap to make, and they're really healthy for you. The first time I made exactly according the the recipe. Second time around added about a quarter cup of Parmesan cheese and used corn right off the cob that I had roasted first. Even better. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this on a whim after trying to figure out what to do with a ton of brown rice I had. They were delicious! I didn't have chives, so I used chopped onion as the other reviewer suggested. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I subbed with 1/8 tsp of chili powder and paprika. They were really, really tasty! My kids ate theirs with a little ketchup and went back for seconds. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Taste awesome with sriracha :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Rather bland, I liked the over all taste but I might experiment with some spices later on. I used frozen corn, that is what we had, and soymilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Albritton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I changed this recipe up by adding a little honey (a few table spoons) to the mix and served the cakes with pure maple syrup. Instead of olive oil, I used Pam no-calorie, no fat, non-stick spray and omitted the chives. The cakes were excellent and very well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Goes great with stuffed chicken or grilled salmon yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These are delicious and easy to make. I did not change a thing and will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I was really looking forward to these, but we all found them fairly bland. I wish I had used fresh off the cob corn, as I think that would have added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I was looking for creative and healthy ways to use brown rice, and this is a winner! My family loves corn. They are super easy to make. I am keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States