Brown Rice and Corn Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I used chopped onions instead of chives, and soy milk instead of cow's milk. Great tasting breakfast instead of pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this on a whim after trying to figure out what to do with a ton of brown rice I had. They were delicious! I didn't have chives, so I used chopped onion as the other reviewer suggested. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I subbed with 1/8 tsp of chili powder and paprika. They were really, really tasty! My kids ate theirs with a little ketchup and went back for seconds. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I was looking for creative and healthy ways to use brown rice, and this is a winner! My family loves corn. They are super easy to make. I am keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
About as good as it gets. The taste is spectacular, they're filling, they're cheap to make, and they're really healthy for you. The first time I made exactly according the the recipe. Second time around added about a quarter cup of Parmesan cheese and used corn right off the cob that I had roasted first. Even better. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I was really looking forward to these, but we all found them fairly bland. I wish I had used fresh off the cob corn, as I think that would have added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These are delicious and easy to make. I did not change a thing and will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Taste awesome with sriracha :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Goes great with stuffed chicken or grilled salmon yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I changed this recipe up by adding a little honey (a few table spoons) to the mix and served the cakes with pure maple syrup. Instead of olive oil, I used Pam no-calorie, no fat, non-stick spray and omitted the chives. The cakes were excellent and very well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Rather bland, I liked the over all taste but I might experiment with some spices later on. I used frozen corn, that is what we had, and soymilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Albritton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States