Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I usually won't touch zucchini with a ten foot pole, however, in this recipe it was very good. My husband, who dislikes rice, beans, and chicken really enjoyed this recipe! I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I wasn't sure if I was going to like it, but it sounded interesting and healthy. The entire family loved it! It did take a lot longer to make than noted, but still worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This was really, really tasty. I subbed just over a cup of sliced bell peppers that I sauteed with the chicken instead of the zuchinni and mushrooms (no decent zuchinni around here in Jan. and I don't like mushrooms). I did closer to 2/3 cup of carrots and did a mix of cheddar and monteray jack cheeses. The end result was great and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Very tasty...I'm already looking forward to having leftovers for lunch today! My husband really, really loved this. I liked it a lot as well, but would probably change up a few things in the future. First, it's called a brown rice casserole, but I didn't think there was nearly enough rice. I'd double the rice amount in the future. The carrot is also lost...not enough for flavor or even really color. I'd either added far more or omit entirely in the future. The swiss was good, but I think I'd like to try this with cheddar instead or in addition. Lastly, I think the chicken could be easily omitted to make this a vegetarian meal if so desired. This recipe is great as written, and I think it'll stand up to customization as well so I'm excited to try it again with my own spin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe! It was easy to make and really tasty. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Excellent. My husband, who hates veggies, loved this recipe. I used western style chili beans instead of black beans, omitted the mushrooms and served with sour cream and salsa. It was a big hit at dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Great recipe. Very tasty. The only change I made was using mozzarella cheese instead of the Swiss cheese, 'cos that's all I had. My husband and two year old daughter both loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This is great except I made a mistake I added the wrong chillis and made it wayyyyy to hot. So I am going to get some sour cream to maybe cut the heat on the left overs. It made me sad that I did this because it was really good. I surved it was corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My family LOVED this dish! The only thing I didn't have was the swiss cheese...I had mozzerella and cheddar, so I used it. This will be a keeper for sure! Great served with salsa and sour cream. Even my 15month old ate it up! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
this dish really rocks the family. I used three different kinds of cheese. A nd added some garlic. But followed everything else and it turn out awsome! A keeper recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States