Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Nice change from the everyday. I took the advise of other reviewers and used about 1 cup of shredded carrot. I also doubled the brown rice. ( that rice sure had a nice flavor simmered in the vegetable broth ) I also used cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Next time I will mix montary jack cheese and cheddar. My family enjoyed it, and will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was delicious! I'm giving it five stars based on how good it would be even without my changes! Omitted the mushrooms and carrots (didn't have any), chicken broth instead of veggie (what I had), probably doubled the cumin and used chili powder instead of the peppers (I'm a hot-spice wimp), and added a can of (well-drained) petite diced tomatoes. I also halved the cheese -- 1/2 C mexican blend mixed in, then maybe 1/2 C on top -- to watch my middle! (If anyone else tries with tomatoes, I made sure to spoon off the 1/2 C or so of liquid that they released. It would have been soggy otherwise!) My boyfriend LOVED IT, and I will make it again and again! The best part is -- only $.60 a serving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Very tasty...I'm already looking forward to having leftovers for lunch today! My husband really, really loved this. I liked it a lot as well, but would probably change up a few things in the future. First, it's called a brown rice casserole, but I didn't think there was nearly enough rice. I'd double the rice amount in the future. The carrot is also lost...not enough for flavor or even really color. I'd either added far more or omit entirely in the future. The swiss was good, but I think I'd like to try this with cheddar instead or in addition. Lastly, I think the chicken could be easily omitted to make this a vegetarian meal if so desired. This recipe is great as written, and I think it'll stand up to customization as well so I'm excited to try it again with my own spin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Very good. Tried it on the basis of the good reviews it received. I needed a good casserole recipe to take to a friend's house. Very pleased that I picked this recipe. When my husband saw it cooking, he said "That's girl's food." (Because of all the veggies in it.) However, I gave him a dish of it and he really thought it was good. Tip: If you use canned black beans, be sure to rinse them thoroughly - otherwise the sauce that the beans are in can "discolor" the casserole. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This recipe was absolutely scrumptious. We did however spice it up a tad bit more by adding 1/4 cup minced garlic, and using the shredded "Mexican Four Cheese" packs that virtually all cheese makers sell instead of using Swiss, plus we added extra cumin and cayenne pepper, and put sour cream on the servings. Aside from the cheese, this is not only a filling meal, but healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My husband LOVES this! And I have a harder time getting HIM to eat his veggies than I do with our 3 yr old. I love the flavors, I love the blending of such different ingredients...and when I first saw it, I really thought it might be weird. The only part I didn't like was the prep work. I suppose if I used leftover chicken from another meal, that would considerably shorten my prep time. But I tend to cook for EXACTLY who needs to eat, with very little leftovers. And I really couldn't see there being 2 whole leftover breasts from any of our meals! I am actually pregnant right now & have been directed by my midwives to have some sort of hearty meal with plenty of protein & complex carbs (yay for brown rice!) ready to eat after I deliver. I am going to make this & freeze it. I wish there were MORE stars to rate with!! It is TRULY a fabulous blend of food groups & flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This is very tasty. I did make a few modifications due to personal tastes, but kept pretty much the same ingredients. I used a lot more zucchini and mushrooms, left out the cheese entirely and cut back on the chicken. I then added the mixture to whole wheat tortillas with some salsa and made some healthy veggie/riec/bean burritos for lunch. Very good and it made lots. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I wasn't sure if I liked this at first, but it really grew on me the second day. Added lots more vegetables than called for. Also used the mexican cheese, as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This was really, really tasty. I subbed just over a cup of sliced bell peppers that I sauteed with the chicken instead of the zuchinni and mushrooms (no decent zuchinni around here in Jan. and I don't like mushrooms). I did closer to 2/3 cup of carrots and did a mix of cheddar and monteray jack cheeses. The end result was great and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I usually won't touch zucchini with a ten foot pole, however, in this recipe it was very good. My husband, who dislikes rice, beans, and chicken really enjoyed this recipe! I will definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States