Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Both my wife and I really liked this. I used cojack rather than swiss and was tasty. Tonight am making burritos out of the leftovers, topping with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Sorry...I did not care for this recipe at all. It was very bland and had to be "doctored" up a lot! So why have a recipe????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. Double rice and broth, add Rotel and baked pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It was pretty tasty. Not super. It's similar to a southwestern chicken pot pie that I make, minus the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was great! Satisfying and complementary flavors. I only made minor changes: 1) used wild rice and 2) used a Mexican cheese blend of cheddar and and m. jack. Both worked well giving it a little kick and good texture. The next time I might add half a can of diced jalapenos. My husband added, "that's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Delicous! A great combination of tastes and textures. I doubled the rice and add a tiny bit of red pepper with the veggies, and separated into two casseroles, one for my non-chicken eating daughter who also won't eat mushrooms - I just split up the veggies before adding the mushrooms and chicken. Both casseroles turned out awesome. I used a mixture of swiss and low-fat cheddar for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great dish - I loaded it up with veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Made this and it was a huge amount so froze it after we ate on it. When it was thawed in micro....it still tasted fresh and you would never know it was frozen. This is a keeper. Next time add more brocolli and more beans....as a lot of rice in this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
It was an interesting textural combination to have the zucchini, and it's nice to get more veggies in. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was so yummy! It doesn't seem like it would be full of flavour, but it is. I had to make a couple of changes because I did not have certain ingredients. I chopped half of a canned adoboe chile in sauce in place of green chilies (which gives it a bit of a bite!) and I used monterey Jack cheese instead of swiss. The only thing I found was there was not quite enough liquid for the rice, next time I will do in the rice cooker, comes out perfect every time. I will make this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States