Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I followed the advice of others and doubled the rice, used 1 cup of carrots, used the preshredded mexiccan 4 cheese pack (light), and I also used the larger can of black beans. My husband loved it so much, will definitely become a staple in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Healthy and super good. Easy to modify for vegetarians....a hit at many potlucks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was so good! I used a mexican cheese blend instead of the swiss but it was great! The recipe also doubles very well. Definitely a keeper for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
very dry - was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. I don't typically like casseroles, so it was nice to find something I would eat! I added a lot more rice (used 1 C dry) and more carrots (1 C shredded). I also used a bit of cayenne pepper instead of the green chiles (didn't have any on hand) and cheddar instead of swiss. I mixed part of the cheese into the casserole and the rest I put on top. I added a sprinkle of garlic powder as well. This will go onto our regular menu plans, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Bartch
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Both my wife and I really liked this. I used cojack rather than swiss and was tasty. Tonight am making burritos out of the leftovers, topping with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Sorry...I did not care for this recipe at all. It was very bland and had to be "doctored" up a lot! So why have a recipe????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. Double rice and broth, add Rotel and baked pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
It was pretty tasty. Not super. It's similar to a southwestern chicken pot pie that I make, minus the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was great! Satisfying and complementary flavors. I only made minor changes: 1) used wild rice and 2) used a Mexican cheese blend of cheddar and and m. jack. Both worked well giving it a little kick and good texture. The next time I might add half a can of diced jalapenos. My husband added, "that's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States