Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Double (or maybe even tripled) the rice, vegetables, & chile. Substituted red pepper for zucchini, shrimp for chicken. Only used 1/2 the cheese (and used Cheddar instead). AMAZING flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. I omitted the carrots but added some dried cranberries for some sweetness. My teenage children loved it. will keep this as a staple. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Reduced the cheese quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very wonderful but with some changes. My family very much dislikes mushrooms,zucchini, and carrots so I left those out. I used 1 1/2 tsp Cumin and 1 tsp Cayenne because my family LOVES both. I also used cheddar cheese instead of swiss but I'd love to try it with mozzarella. My 5 yr old and 2 yr old both hate chicken and they both asked for 2nd's and 3rd's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This seems to have a starnge combination of ingredients and I was worried it might be too dry.....but.....it was great. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Very different, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I followed the advice of others and doubled the rice, used 1 cup of carrots, used the preshredded mexiccan 4 cheese pack (light), and I also used the larger can of black beans. My husband loved it so much, will definitely become a staple in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Healthy and super good. Easy to modify for vegetarians....a hit at many potlucks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was so good! I used a mexican cheese blend instead of the swiss but it was great! The recipe also doubles very well. Definitely a keeper for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
very dry - was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. I don't typically like casseroles, so it was nice to find something I would eat! I added a lot more rice (used 1 C dry) and more carrots (1 C shredded). I also used a bit of cayenne pepper instead of the green chiles (didn't have any on hand) and cheddar instead of swiss. I mixed part of the cheese into the casserole and the rest I put on top. I added a sprinkle of garlic powder as well. This will go onto our regular menu plans, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States