Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I neither disliked or liked this dish. Something about the dish didn't taste like it belonged, or meshed well or something. I have a similar dish that we call quesadilla casserole from mccormick and it is much better than this. I would suggest going to your local spice aisle and get mccormick's recipe packet(with pre-measured spices included) for quesadilla casserole instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Absolutely love this recipe. You can't go wrong with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I loved this recipe! Aside from making some slight variations,such as, Adding pepper/jack cheese to the mixture and topping it off with cheddar/jack and substituting chili powder and paprika for the cayenne pepper. The most beneficial advice I can give is; to pound (tenderize) the chicken to a 1/2" thickness before cooking it. And I also chose to peel the zucchini before quartering it and chopping it up. Overall I am very impressed with this recipe and would like to thank LYSLW for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this mainly for my one-year-old who eats like a bird, so I am always looking for recipes that include the most amount of food groups. I doubled the carrots, zucchini, onion and brown rice and was able to freeze half for future meals for her. As for my husband and I, it was very bland, so we each added salsa on top. Would make again, but should be served as a side because it's not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very flexible menu that you can customize depending upon seasonal availability. Like most others I used double the brown rice to have left overs. Grated a couple of carrots and added brussels sprout leaves before into the final mix. The leaves gave a nice crunchy texture. Used cremini mushrooms as they are more flavorful and not as expensive as portobello. Next time I might julienne some bell peppers or even a jalapeno. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Double (or maybe even tripled) the rice, vegetables, & chile. Substituted red pepper for zucchini, shrimp for chicken. Only used 1/2 the cheese (and used Cheddar instead). AMAZING flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. I omitted the carrots but added some dried cranberries for some sweetness. My teenage children loved it. will keep this as a staple. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Reduced the cheese quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very wonderful but with some changes. My family very much dislikes mushrooms,zucchini, and carrots so I left those out. I used 1 1/2 tsp Cumin and 1 tsp Cayenne because my family LOVES both. I also used cheddar cheese instead of swiss but I'd love to try it with mozzarella. My 5 yr old and 2 yr old both hate chicken and they both asked for 2nd's and 3rd's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States