Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh McKane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
i just tried this recipe tonight (sans meat) and it's wonderful. the brilliant part is cooking the rice in the veg broth. gives it a much richer flavor than it would be with rice cooked in plain water. and, like others that have reviewed here, i substituted swiss cheese for cheddar and monterey jack (a cup of each). yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
We did this without the chicken and it tasted pretty good. Filling even without the meat. We also added more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Ez, tasty, and nutritious! I went ez on the spices by just using a pinch or so it was enough to give it a tad bit of kick without overwhelming. I'll definately make again but might use 1/2 chicken breast, 1/2 chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I had some brown rice, a can of black beans, and left over chicken to use up. I also love swiss cheese and fresh mushroons, so I thought this would be a very good recipe to try. I was wrong, although it was edible, didn't care for the combination at all, and no one else in my family would even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Wonderful recipe, although the flavors are pretty bland, so I've been experimenting with ways to spice it up a bit. Still bland, but still good! Modifications tried so far: fresh jalapeños, cilantro, grill the chicken, grill the veggies, 2% Mexican cheese blend instead of swiss. I've never added the carrots, and as I've upped the jalapeños, I've omitted the cayenne. I always use more rice than called for. Bottom line: inexpensive and healthy dinner option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe. Its a great way to use up zucchini from the garden and makes a healthy meal. I don't change anything except substituting cheddar for the swiss cheese. Fun to make because it gives me a reason to get out the mandolin! I think its the fear of losing my fingertips that makes this tool so much fun. I have made it with canned tomatoes and fresh cilantro for a really nice twist. I've also added red pepper with the onions a few times just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Based on other reviewers, I doubled the rice, mushrooms, and onions. I omitted the chicken (we're vegetarian) and used cheddar instead of Swiss. I also added about 1/2 cup of salsa. I think without this, it may have been dry? Regardless it added nice flavor. I plan to make this dish regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent Casserole - Easy to make and is very tasty in my opinion. I stuck to the ingredients called for and I will try the modifications suggested by other reviewers the next time I make it just to see if it comes out any different. I recommend this recipe, it is a very good way to get brown rice and black beans into your meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States