Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is a solid recipe and may be great for those who like milder flavours. We found it too bland for us. Next time I would add some kind of enchalada sauce and maybe some red peppers/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good. Whole family loved it. Also good with brown and wild rice. Also good w/o chicken or with sausage. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Tasty and easy and healthy! I did substitute shredded Red. Fat Mexican cheese to cut fat, and 2-3X the amount of rice as others suggested. Makes great leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made it without the chicken. Very good. Took advice from comments and doubled the rice, broth and carrots. Would be great in a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Loved this so simple and even my picky kids liked just need to use less of cayenne powder so not as spicy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I was skeptical about this one, not for myself, but for getting my family to eat it. So instead of slicing the zucchini, I grated it, which hid it well so they didn't even know it was there. My youngest child liked it so much she asked for seconds! That was quite a feat not just because of the hidden zucchini but she usually refuses to even trying anything with beans in it. Very impressed!. I used mozzarella because it's what I had on hand, cooked my own black beans from dried and made a 2:1 mix of brown rice and quinoa of which I used about 1.5 cups (cooked). This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I added 2/3 rice, more onion, carrot, strained diced tomatoes, and a couple of garlic cloves, as well as cheddar cheese. This was delicious, I didn't anticipate it to turn out so amazing! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I do not generally leave bad ratings, but I cannot for the life of me figure out why this recipe is rated so highly. This recipe might be an ok base for something better, that is about all it is, at best. NOTE: I DID NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS RECIPE - MADE IT AS IS. As is, this recipe is bland and not worth all of the pans it takes to make it. It is relaltively healthy, I will give it that. It needs some serious kick.. I travel quite a bit for work and my husband (the leftover king when I am out of town) does not even want the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of our go-to dishes. It is easy to make and is super delicious! We love how it has veggies in it and has that southwest flavor. We usually end up doubling the recipe and keeping one batch in the freezer for future use. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevetkeys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I have made this several times and it is a winner!! Great all around meal that includes all of the food groups! I call it chicken casserole, I think the title might skew some people but it's yummy and makes great leftovers! I made as the recipe stated but since then I did not include the carrots or mushrooms because I never have those on hand. I have made it with other veggies and diff types of cheese and it's still great. Def a casserole that you can dump all your leftovers in. My only complaint is the prep time is a bit long but dont skip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States