Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband loved it. He is a gourmet chef and I am always afraid to cook for him, since he can out-cook me,and he raved over this casserole. Said it was better than his mother's and had to give samples away. I was so proud. I used homemade black beans and added 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes w/o juice and used cheddar cheese. VERY DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I had left over black beans, rice and mushrooms. This recipe popped up and was perfect! I also had the zucchini, canned chicken, green chilies and some Swiss cheese. I used mozzarella for the remaining portion. This is a perfect recipe for adaptation to what you happen to have on hand. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Used chicken broth, added petite diced tomatoes and garlic, omitted mushrooms, zucchini and carrots (didn't have any on hand) and added frozen corn and topped it off with salsa. My kids (ages 10, 9 and 3) loved it. This is in our regular dinner rotation. Thanks for the tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A good basic recipe to build on. Nothing needs to be exact and you can add more of whatever you like the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very good. It does take a bit longer than 15 minutes to put this together. It is worth the time, and it disappears quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was delicious! The only changes I made were to add fresh garlic and extra shredded cheese. It was a hit and will be added to the regular recipe cycle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe- so easy to adjust to what you have on hand. I had raw chicken, so I cooked it with the spices above with some diced carrots. I used cooked rice in a bag (just one bag). I didn't have onions, zucchini, or mushrooms, so I threw in a half cup of frozen corn. I also used cheddar cheese. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yummy! a little time consuming. Add garlic, 1 clove, with onion. Use Mexican, jack or cheddar cheese combo. Use about 1c carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this recipe tonight for dinner and loved it. I thought it was very tasty. I don't understand how anyone could think this was less than average. I took the suggestion of a reviewer and put it in tortillas, used four cheese Mexican blend instead of swiss and, since I am vegetarian, used quorn tenders to substitute for the chicken. I think this recipe lends itself nicely to any changes you want to make. I might add sliced black olives next time or some jalepeno. Thanks for the great and pretty easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
For my first time making this, I did it as written. I was very happy with how it turned out and got many compliments from the party I took it to. I'd love to add more rice to this in the future and maybe some more spices too. For health reasons I think I'll add less cheese next time too. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States