Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe- so easy to adjust to what you have on hand. I had raw chicken, so I cooked it with the spices above with some diced carrots. I used cooked rice in a bag (just one bag). I didn't have onions, zucchini, or mushrooms, so I threw in a half cup of frozen corn. I also used cheddar cheese. Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yummy! a little time consuming. Add garlic, 1 clove, with onion. Use Mexican, jack or cheddar cheese combo. Use about 1c carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this recipe tonight for dinner and loved it. I thought it was very tasty. I don't understand how anyone could think this was less than average. I took the suggestion of a reviewer and put it in tortillas, used four cheese Mexican blend instead of swiss and, since I am vegetarian, used quorn tenders to substitute for the chicken. I think this recipe lends itself nicely to any changes you want to make. I might add sliced black olives next time or some jalepeno. Thanks for the great and pretty easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
For my first time making this, I did it as written. I was very happy with how it turned out and got many compliments from the party I took it to. I'd love to add more rice to this in the future and maybe some more spices too. For health reasons I think I'll add less cheese next time too. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Wish I could give it more stars. I really enjoyed it. I made it almost as written except I used mozzarella cheese instead of Swiss because non of us like Swiss. I thought it had good flavor partly because all of my ingredients was fresh from the Amish community. The reason I can't give it a better ranking as the kids did not enjoy it. One didn't like it at all and didn't eat it. They said it was too plain and dry. It was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I omitted the chicken, doubled the rice, used cheddar cheese and added Southwest seasoning and also augmented the spicy factor with two sliced serrano peppers. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Following the advice in some of the other reviews, I increased the rice, decreased the chicken, and added a can of drained diced tomatoes. I also used Mexican cheese blend and low-fat Colby Jack, because that's what I had on hand. I added chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder, as well. We thought it was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Not a bad casserole but not worth nearly 2 hours of prep and cooking. if you had chicken and brown rice left over from a previous meal, this is a good "clean up" recipe but I don't think I will go out and buys all the ingredients for this recipe specifically again. Made according to directions except I used colby - jack cheese because it seemed to make more sense with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Based on reading the other reviews, it seems I erred in actually following the recipe exactly, as we found this dish to be underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Wow! Delicious keeper! I omited the chicken to make it a side dish with tequila lime bbq shrimp & substituted mozzarella cheese to use up what I had on hand. Family friend raved and he even asked for the recipe so he could make it for his kids. Try some cilantro sprinkled on top to add some color and deepen the flavor. Thanks LYSLW! I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States