Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
WE LOVE THIS! The only change I made was doubling the rice (and vegetable broth). I like to follow the recipes to a tee (almost) and then adjust from there. I will make this again and will add an extra zucchini and more mushrooms, just because we love them. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Ware De Antonio

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is very tasty and has healthy ingredients. We made this for a large crew of construction volunteers for lunch. Some without chicken for the vegetarians. They all loved it and it became a regular item on the menu over a period of four months. It is quite cost effective and easy to make. My husband and I enjoy it for a weeknight dinner from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
As per the suggestions of others, I doubled the rice (and the broth), and I used sharp cheddar instead of Swiss. For the chicken, I used a package of pre-cooked, grilled, refrigerated chicken strips - I cut them into tiny pieces (almost shredded), and I did not need to add them to the pan when I sauteed the veggies. I omitted the carrots and used a mixture of bell pepper, zuccini, and mushrooms. I meant to add about a cup of frozen corn, but I forgot about it. (Next time I will use bell pepper, mushrooms, and corn for the veggies). I also added much more cumin than this recipe called for, some chili powder, dried cilantro, and cayenne. None of the spices were overpowering. I thought the spices would blend better with the rice, so I added them to it while it was simmering. I served this dish with salsa, Frank's Red Hot Sauce, sour cream, and tortilla chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious! Very easy. I added some chopped garlic, and instead of just green chili's I used Rotel diced tomatoes w/green chili's. I also used cheddar instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent! I never seen kids eat so much. I will have to make double for next time. I did make a seperate dish for myself with hot peppers in it and for the main dish used green and red regular peppers. Absolutly loved the rice in the veggie broth. So much flavour. Will leave out the zucchini as I have a child who hates them as well as the mushrooms. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mira

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I did ingredient search for zucchini and found this recipe. It sounded healthy and good. So I tried it. My husband liked it and I could taste it even though my taste buds are way off due to chemotherapy. The changes I made was I thinly sliced baby carrots instead of shredded. I thought I could taste them better and I did taste them a bit. I didn't have Swiss cheese so used chedder. And I only put a sprinkle of Cayenne because I can't eat spicy at this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMLOISPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Hubby loved it and so didn't adult son...I am using leftovers in slow cooker today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Pretty good. Left out peppers and mushrooms (personal taste). Definitely had to double rice. Should have added a little more cumin. Used monterrey jack and cheddar instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Delicious! I used a bit more onion and mushroom. Instead of swiss cheese, I used a mexican blend. Served it with siracha hot sauce and sour cream. It was a huge hit. My boyfriend and I loved the dish!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a decent starting recipe, but the resulting casserole is rather bland. Considering the recipe barely calls for seasoning or spices and uses mildly flavored ingredients, I'm confused by all the five star ratings. I'll make this again because it's a veggie-packed version of beans and rice. However, I'll definitely add a Mexican seasoning mix to it to kick up the flavor. And I might try it with chicken thighs instead of breasts to add even more flavor. The changes I made: I chopped raw chicken and boiled it shortly in broth before adding the brown rice to the pot, as I didn't have cooked chicken on hand. I doubled the brown rice to 2/3 cup and upped the broth to 1.5 cups to compensate. I kept the rice cooking time the same. I also doubled the amount of cumin, onion (1/3 cup just seemed too small to add flavor) and carrots (as other reviewers mentioned they couldn't taste the carrots; doubled I still couldn't taste the carrots). I used sharp cheddar cheese as I don't like swiss and because many reviewers said to try this substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States