Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was great- and very healthy! I took the advice of others and used 1 cup carrots (instead of 1/3), used reduced fat mexican blend cheese, and used 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper (I like things spicy!). And to decrease the prep time- I used microwave brown rice instead of making brown rice with vegetable broth. It was great and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I added a jar of drained artichoke hearts to the mix. Also after the initial baking, I sprinkled the top with shredded Parm. and baked for the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishngriz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I didn't think this was going to be as good as it was! We loved it! I took the advice of previous reviewers and substituted a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilis for the can of green chili peppers and I doubled the rice and broth. Yummy healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
WOW! My family loves this casserole. We made a few adjustments. We don't like the flavor of chiles so I added a half can of diced tomatoes. Also sauted fresh garlic with the onion and added fresh cilantro after baking. It is healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My whole family LOVES this (17months, 6yrs, 8yrs & mom and dad). My take on it: I used fresh spinach, doubled the rice and carrots, used a can of corn instead of zucchini and mushrooms, and used pimentos instead of green chile peppers, lastly I used cheddar instead of swiss. This was scrumptious this way, wowzers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
WE LOVE THIS! The only change I made was doubling the rice (and vegetable broth). I like to follow the recipes to a tee (almost) and then adjust from there. I will make this again and will add an extra zucchini and more mushrooms, just because we love them. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is very tasty and has healthy ingredients. We made this for a large crew of construction volunteers for lunch. Some without chicken for the vegetarians. They all loved it and it became a regular item on the menu over a period of four months. It is quite cost effective and easy to make. My husband and I enjoy it for a weeknight dinner from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
As per the suggestions of others, I doubled the rice (and the broth), and I used sharp cheddar instead of Swiss. For the chicken, I used a package of pre-cooked, grilled, refrigerated chicken strips - I cut them into tiny pieces (almost shredded), and I did not need to add them to the pan when I sauteed the veggies. I omitted the carrots and used a mixture of bell pepper, zuccini, and mushrooms. I meant to add about a cup of frozen corn, but I forgot about it. (Next time I will use bell pepper, mushrooms, and corn for the veggies). I also added much more cumin than this recipe called for, some chili powder, dried cilantro, and cayenne. None of the spices were overpowering. I thought the spices would blend better with the rice, so I added them to it while it was simmering. I served this dish with salsa, Frank's Red Hot Sauce, sour cream, and tortilla chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious! Very easy. I added some chopped garlic, and instead of just green chili's I used Rotel diced tomatoes w/green chili's. I also used cheddar instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent! I never seen kids eat so much. I will have to make double for next time. I did make a seperate dish for myself with hot peppers in it and for the main dish used green and red regular peppers. Absolutly loved the rice in the veggie broth. So much flavour. Will leave out the zucchini as I have a child who hates them as well as the mushrooms. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mira

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States