Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Wow! I'd been eyeing this awhile, thinking it would be good but I'm really pleased with just how good it turned out. I had some shitakis, a cuke, and some teriyaki chicken to use up, so I went with this and am glad I did. I left out the carrot, and used plain brown rice and it still had a really nice flavor even without the rice cooked in stock. Definitely going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Pretty easy to make, and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I took the advice of other reviews and doubled the rice and carrots. I also added a can of well drained diced tomatoes and used slightly less cheese. It was extremely good-definitely going in the regular recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was searching for recipes under the indredient list b/c i had some leftover rice and black beans from a catered office lunch and came upon this recipe and had a lot of reviews and decided to try it!! It was delicious!!! I did however make a few changes because my rice was already cooked, so it would be good to use up any leftover rice and veggies. I sauteed the onion and carrots in the oil till almost done then added the zucchini & mushrooms. When the mushrooms were almost done i added all the other indredients and mixed. I felt like it needed a little more flavor so i added about 1/2 tsp or more chipotle chili powder & about 1/2 cup of salsa. PS the more cheese the better but if you are trying to keep it healthy oh well :) i also topped with a little sourcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blasater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good. Made with about an extra cup of zucchini & an extra cup of shreded carrots, and used spicy jalapeno beans. Next time, I will try making it with chicken breast halves added when I put it in the oven (not boneless) to make it a more hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
[2/12] 2x brown rice, 1 cup carrots, omitted mushrooms because didn't have, boiled chicken thighs, and used cheddar cheese. Good, though would probably reduce cheese to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I really enjoyed this dish. Kiddos werent crazy about it, but I think cutting the veggies a little smaller next time will make it easier/more likely for them to eat. Used a mixed cheese from TJ's and only about half. Added double the carrots, more mushrooms, and garlic. Left out green chiles. Served with Salsa, sour cream, and chopped olives..pretty yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used chicken broth instead of veg. broth because that is what I had on hand. Family really liked it. It was a little dry for me. Hubby wants it in the cooking rotation. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
FANTASTIC! I too added a 1 cup of carrots, 1 cup mushrooms and 1 cup rice. Next time I might try black eyed peas. Omit the salt, the cheese and veg. broth are plenty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States