Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Really good and easy to tweek to you favorite tastes. Used mexician blend cheese because it is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was a nice meal. My husband rated it with a "make it once every other month". I did not put mushrooms in because we do not care for them. I increased rice to one cup and made it with chicken stock. I also didn't have green chiles so I bumped up cayenne. I increased the carrots to about 3/4 cup and used cheddar instead. There is nothing wrong with the original...these changes just worked for our family and cupboards. :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good, as in other reviews, doubled rice and added can of tomatoes with green chili. Not spicy enough for us. Will add more spice and more rice next time. Will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
There are a lot of healthy ingredients in here and it tastes great! The little amount that was left I used as breakfast the next day and it was even better! I will definately be making this again. Even my kids liked it. Made it exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I did not have the vegetable broth, black beans, or zucchini. So I substituted chicken broth and a can of pinto beans and omitted the zucchini. It was still outstanding! This will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very disappointing. With all the veggies & cheese I was expecting more. Very bland even though I more than doubled the spices & was very heavy with the cayenne pepper. It just lacked something. However Hubby thought it was good. The most redeeming quality of this dish is that I took the leftovers & made enchildas with them as suggested by another reviewer. As enchiladas they were better. I doubt this will be on my "keep" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REECES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pella, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Wow! I'd been eyeing this awhile, thinking it would be good but I'm really pleased with just how good it turned out. I had some shitakis, a cuke, and some teriyaki chicken to use up, so I went with this and am glad I did. I left out the carrot, and used plain brown rice and it still had a really nice flavor even without the rice cooked in stock. Definitely going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Pretty easy to make, and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I took the advice of other reviews and doubled the rice and carrots. I also added a can of well drained diced tomatoes and used slightly less cheese. It was extremely good-definitely going in the regular recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was searching for recipes under the indredient list b/c i had some leftover rice and black beans from a catered office lunch and came upon this recipe and had a lot of reviews and decided to try it!! It was delicious!!! I did however make a few changes because my rice was already cooked, so it would be good to use up any leftover rice and veggies. I sauteed the onion and carrots in the oil till almost done then added the zucchini & mushrooms. When the mushrooms were almost done i added all the other indredients and mixed. I felt like it needed a little more flavor so i added about 1/2 tsp or more chipotle chili powder & about 1/2 cup of salsa. PS the more cheese the better but if you are trying to keep it healthy oh well :) i also topped with a little sourcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blasater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States