Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Wish I could give it more stars. I really enjoyed it. I made it almost as written except I used mozzarella cheese instead of Swiss because non of us like Swiss. I thought it had good flavor partly because all of my ingredients was fresh from the Amish community. The reason I can't give it a better ranking as the kids did not enjoy it. One didn't like it at all and didn't eat it. They said it was too plain and dry. It was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I omitted the chicken, doubled the rice, used cheddar cheese and added Southwest seasoning and also augmented the spicy factor with two sliced serrano peppers. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Following the advice in some of the other reviews, I increased the rice, decreased the chicken, and added a can of drained diced tomatoes. I also used Mexican cheese blend and low-fat Colby Jack, because that's what I had on hand. I added chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder, as well. We thought it was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Not a bad casserole but not worth nearly 2 hours of prep and cooking. if you had chicken and brown rice left over from a previous meal, this is a good "clean up" recipe but I don't think I will go out and buys all the ingredients for this recipe specifically again. Made according to directions except I used colby - jack cheese because it seemed to make more sense with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Based on reading the other reviews, it seems I erred in actually following the recipe exactly, as we found this dish to be underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Wow! Delicious keeper! I omited the chicken to make it a side dish with tequila lime bbq shrimp & substituted mozzarella cheese to use up what I had on hand. Family friend raved and he even asked for the recipe so he could make it for his kids. Try some cilantro sprinkled on top to add some color and deepen the flavor. Thanks LYSLW! I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
yummy, threw in lot's of veggies I wanted to use up and left out the chicken. Nice little throw together with leftover brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Yum!! Added extra carrot, mushroom and zucchini and lowered the amount of meat or meat can be left out. I also increased rice to one cup- used instant brown rice. This stuff is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
C likes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is a solid recipe and may be great for those who like milder flavours. We found it too bland for us. Next time I would add some kind of enchalada sauce and maybe some red peppers/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States