Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Thank you for this very tasty recipeé It is, indeed, a keeper. I used Parmesano Reggiano for cheese, and a homemade blend of taco seasoning. That really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was really easy. I left out the chicken to make it vegetarian, and added a can of rotel tomatoes instead of the can of green chiles. When I tasted, I decided to add a bit of taco seasoning as well. It was very filling, and I used the leftovers to make enchiladas the next day. Easy recipe to adapt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I'll probably try this again at least one more time...Good taste but it was a little dry. I'm not sure how that happened; maybe I cooked my chicken a little too long. This is not a "quick" meal in my opinion, with all the things that need to be cooked separately before assembling. As such, I cooked my chicken and rice the night before. Easy peasy...rice in the rice cooker and chicken in the slow cooker. I doubled the amount of rice as per other reviews and used a 4 cheese italian blend instead of swiss. I was also very liberal with my use of cumin and cayenne. I also added some roasted garlic and tomatoes. All told it is a healthy meal that is fairly easy with some pre-planning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Terrific, easy, and pretty kid friendly. Great weeknight meal, especially if using left over chicken. When I'm cooking something like rice, I always make more than I need, then portion and freeze the extra. Makes it easier to put into something like this. The leftovers also made a great lunch the next day. The only thing I would do differently next time is use cheddar or a mexican cheese blend instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a keeper. I made it without chicken for a vegetarian friend. Of course I tried it out first. It was a hit. Like others, I used 4-cheese Mexican blend. Instead of green chiles, I used 1/2 can store brand "mild"diced tomatoes and green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very good! This is a definite keeper, the only thing I did different was add more rice and another chicken breast because I cook for a crew and have to have left overs to send with my husband for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have made this recipe a number of different ways and it is always good. I usually double the rice, add yellow squash, and double the carrots. You can make this totally vegetarian and it's still so delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
delicious, simple, easy, and healthy! we used the left-overs for nachos the next day. definitely needs Mexican cheese blend or just cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Yum! I keep looking for new reciepes to use the zucchini from our garden. Wow the veggies in this dish! I did not use the cayenne or chilis because I have little ones and didn't want to risk a turned up nose. They LOVED it! I used Mexican blend cheese instead of swiss because I had it. I had cooked a chicken in the crockpot yesterday so the meat was nice and juicy - highly recomend! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States