Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Thought it was pretty bland, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My family thought this was great! I doubled recipe and at the end only added green chiles to the adult half, and left the children's half without. Everyone was happy. Although I could have gone with even more spice in the adult portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I really enjoyed this the first time I ate it, but oh does it improve with age. I ate the last leftover today, 2 days after it was made and boy was it good. My son ate a full plate of it last night and also seemed to enjoy it more the second go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is yummy stuff. Did as other folks suggested. I doubled the amount of rice, used cheddar cheese. The leftovers are great for lunch the next day in a flour tortilla with shredded lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
More brown rice, more mushrooms, 1/2 swiss & 1/2 (?) Mont Jack. [DOUBLE RECIPE]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mamaroneck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up some left over chicken and this was terrific. To lessen the prep time I purchased the pre-cut match stick carrots and increased the carrots to 1-1/4 cup. As suggested, I added a can of diced tomatoes (drained), added a bit more rice and used mexican cheese. I put the left over's in the freezer for another night. I will be making this recipe again for sure. Thank you for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Good flavor but dry and crumbly. So dry it fell of the fork! It needs a sauce to hold the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was excellent! Definitely agree that it needs more rice, veggies and rinse the beans first. Does anyone know how to convert this recipe for the crock pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin Gravatte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family and I really enjoyed this casserole. A few of us added a little Garlic Chilli Sauce at the table for an extra kick. Boy, did that do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious....with quite a few variations. I decided to go with a southwestern theme by using yellow peppers and corn instead of zucchin-mushrooms/carrots. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil (olive oil becomes a carcinogen when cooked), doubled the rice, doubled the onion, added a large clove of garlic, cut up 2 fresh serrano chiles instead of the canned chiles, and used a jack/chedder combo instead of swiss. I didn't measure the cheese, but I'm sure I used more than 2 cups. But hey, I added more rice, so I had too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States