Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Good flavor but dry and crumbly. So dry it fell of the fork! It needs a sauce to hold the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was excellent! Definitely agree that it needs more rice, veggies and rinse the beans first. Does anyone know how to convert this recipe for the crock pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family and I really enjoyed this casserole. A few of us added a little Garlic Chilli Sauce at the table for an extra kick. Boy, did that do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious....with quite a few variations. I decided to go with a southwestern theme by using yellow peppers and corn instead of zucchin-mushrooms/carrots. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil (olive oil becomes a carcinogen when cooked), doubled the rice, doubled the onion, added a large clove of garlic, cut up 2 fresh serrano chiles instead of the canned chiles, and used a jack/chedder combo instead of swiss. I didn't measure the cheese, but I'm sure I used more than 2 cups. But hey, I added more rice, so I had too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
The whole family loved this recipe! Nice healthy meal. We wrapped it up in whole wheat tortillas to make it a bit hardier. I will definitely add more of the brown rice the next time I make it however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Used reg. long grain rice, chicken broth, & shredded monterey jack cheese(I'm terrible I never stick to a recipe)& it came out sooooooooooo good esp. with fresh garden tomatoes,oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stephentown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made 1/3 of this recipe without chicken for a vegetarian friend. She loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartwell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Very nice filling, nutritious comfort food. I used 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tbsp. cayenne with very little salt. I added about 1/2 cup frozen corn and replace the peppers with 1/4 cup pickled pepper rings. Served it with grilled tomato wedges, which was a very nice side. Next time I'd simmer the chicken and veggies with spices over the BBQ to give it a different flavour and make the house not be quite as aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Nice, healthy recipe. I added a can of mild Rotel tomatoes with green Chilles and some fresh diced jalepenos to the sauteed veggies. I also seasoned the chicken breast with southwest seasoning before I baked it. Also, used a Mexican 4 cheese blend instead of Swiss. It just seemed like a better choice. My casserole had a nice spicy kick. Easy to make and not fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yummy! I was looking for a way to use up some ingredients I had, and this recipe popped into my inbox. I made a couple of changes based on available ingredients..I used a home-canned spiced soup starter (peas, carrots, onions, peppers) in place of the zucchini and I used chicken thighs as it was what I had on hand. I also used a rice mix (long-grain, wild, brown) whch added a nice bit of texture. I served this to my family, fully expecting that at least some of them would pronounce it mediocre...but it was a unanimous hit! I should have tripled the recipe instead of doubling it! this seems like my favorite kind of recipe..the kind I can tinker with based on the ingredients at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States