Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Barb says it's a "Do Again". But I wasn't wild about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I love eating hearty meals that are also healthy! This was packed full of nutrition and taste. Next time I would substitue part skim swiss cheese to cut down on fat calories and use slightly less of it. This will be a regular in our home. Just like another reviewer stated... I cannot wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is very good. Did make a couple changes to it. Didn't use mushroom because of allergies. Used a tsp of Chili powder instead of cumin, cayenne pepper, and salt. Also used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Yum!!! I through some sour cream and mild chunky salsa to add some more flavor. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great recipe I too doubled the amount of carrot and rice, and I used a cheddar/jack cheese. Definitely adding this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very good. I didn't have any mushrooms or carrots, so I replaced them with fresh tomatoes and a can of corn. The cheese that gets mixed in, I used colby jack. The cheese that goes on top, I used a fresh cheese that is made locally because I didn't have any colby jack left. My boyfriend really liked it, esp. the zucchini. I will more rice next time. Over all, it was very very good and I am going to be sharing this recipe with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamperedbliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was delish! I loved the combination of veggies and spices. I tripled the rice, used cheddar cheese (that's what we had) and added more carrots as per other reviews. When I served it I had chips and salsa so my husband poured that on and said it was even better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great Flavor! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great dish, nice blend of flavors. I used cheddar cheese and suggest adding a little bit more rice. Will make again and great for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious...I doubled everything since the recipe seemed a bit small and I'm glad I did! The flavor was just right. I didn't have any carrots on hand but added some red pepper with the onions and mushrooms. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States