Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This dish is yummy. I will probably season it a little different next time around. And maybe add a little more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
this was very good after some modifications.. i didn't have any brown rice so i used some leftover white rice that had the drippings from Ramjam Chicken (on this site) so that gave it a great base flavor.. i used a yellow squash for the zucchini and diced it up instead of slicing thin.. and sliced the onion (half of a small) instead of dicing.. used 1/2 lb of italian seasoned ground turkey for the chicken.. left out the mushrooms.. probably doubled the cumin and used half of a green bell pepper for the canned chiles.. shredded three carrots and used 1 cup of cheddar.. after cooking the veggies i stirred everything into the pot and served inside corn tortillas with a bit of salsa on top.. bf loved these.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I've made this a million times - always a hit. Last night, I substituted a drained can of Rotel tomatoes for the green chiles, and it was the best version yet. (I also always double the rice, broth, carrots, and zucchini.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
If you Would like just a little spicy this is perfect. Next time I would add more heat. I didn't drain the beans. I think it gave it more flavor and Moist. I did do 1 cup of rice. I'm on simply smart program for weight watchers perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband loved it. He is a gourmet chef and I am always afraid to cook for him, since he can out-cook me,and he raved over this casserole. Said it was better than his mother's and had to give samples away. I was so proud. I used homemade black beans and added 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes w/o juice and used cheddar cheese. VERY DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I had left over black beans, rice and mushrooms. This recipe popped up and was perfect! I also had the zucchini, canned chicken, green chilies and some Swiss cheese. I used mozzarella for the remaining portion. This is a perfect recipe for adaptation to what you happen to have on hand. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Used chicken broth, added petite diced tomatoes and garlic, omitted mushrooms, zucchini and carrots (didn't have any on hand) and added frozen corn and topped it off with salsa. My kids (ages 10, 9 and 3) loved it. This is in our regular dinner rotation. Thanks for the tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
A good basic recipe to build on. Nothing needs to be exact and you can add more of whatever you like the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very good. It does take a bit longer than 15 minutes to put this together. It is worth the time, and it disappears quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was delicious! The only changes I made were to add fresh garlic and extra shredded cheese. It was a hit and will be added to the regular recipe cycle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States