Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This was easy and pretty tasty! I made my own black beans so used about 2 cups of that. I cooked 1 cup of dry jasmine rice (out of brown rice) so whatever they amounted up to I threw that in there. Due to being in a hurry and tired I totally bombed the instructions lol but it turned out. Used about a cup of shredded carrots and follows instructions for other veggies. Couldn't even taste the mushrooms, which is great for the kids sake. I could've thrown another chx breast in there but it was good as is. Poured a splash of veg broth over dish before sprinkling cheese on top. Used a 13x9 pan and it was as perfect. Think ill make less next time though. Used cheddar and Monterey cheeses. Turned out excellent! Maybe will try an extra zucchini next time. I would make this again. Will update when kids tell me what they think. Gotta try it again as a vegan meal with brown rice and no chx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Tastes like an enchilada without the tortilla. My dad ate it with salsa, and corn chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Turned out pretty good. Doubled the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Amazing!! I used leftover roast chicken and kidney beans instead of the suggested and served with a garden salad and a sprinkle if chilli.. My children were very satisfied ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe. I omitted the chicken and a can of corn (along with the zucchini, mushrooms, onion), a little garlic and a pack of taco seasoning that was recommended in a review. It was so delicious! My 3 and 5 year old boys loved it and so did my vegetarian husband. A great way to sneak in those veggies! A must add to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I found this recipes and made it because I had all of the main ingredients. It turned out great. I made a few changes to use what I had on hand and my substitutions were tasty. I had Pepper Jack cheese and used that and a can of mild Rotel with green chilies. I forgot the carrots, but honestly didn't miss them. I can imagine using the Swiss cheese and carrots and getting quite a different taste, but the Tex-Mex taste was very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This dish is yummy. I will probably season it a little different next time around. And maybe add a little more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
this was very good after some modifications.. i didn't have any brown rice so i used some leftover white rice that had the drippings from Ramjam Chicken (on this site) so that gave it a great base flavor.. i used a yellow squash for the zucchini and diced it up instead of slicing thin.. and sliced the onion (half of a small) instead of dicing.. used 1/2 lb of italian seasoned ground turkey for the chicken.. left out the mushrooms.. probably doubled the cumin and used half of a green bell pepper for the canned chiles.. shredded three carrots and used 1 cup of cheddar.. after cooking the veggies i stirred everything into the pot and served inside corn tortillas with a bit of salsa on top.. bf loved these.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I've made this a million times - always a hit. Last night, I substituted a drained can of Rotel tomatoes for the green chiles, and it was the best version yet. (I also always double the rice, broth, carrots, and zucchini.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
If you Would like just a little spicy this is perfect. Next time I would add more heat. I didn't drain the beans. I think it gave it more flavor and Moist. I did do 1 cup of rice. I'm on simply smart program for weight watchers perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States