Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Makes a great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Wow, I thought this salad looked like it would be good, but I was surprised at how good it really was! I will definately make it again. This makes a healthy, satisfying lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Ick. Sorry, but a very odd concoction. No one here cared for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I enjoyed this, but I like unusual/exotic dishes. However, the group of ladies I served it to didn't seem to enjoy it, nor did they ask for the recipe (which they always do when they like a dish served at our ladies luncheons.) If you like out-of-the-ordinary fare, you'll probably enjoy this. The cilantro (must use fresh, not dried) really makes this dish!! It needed more salt, and I doubled the amount of peas and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I really liked the flavors of this creamy and satisfying salad. I left out the cilantro cause I really dont care for it and it was great. A great way to get in your fiber. I used minute brown rice also cause its easier. Wonderful! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Not nearly as much flavor as I thought it would have. Still good, just different than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Good stuff! I made this for a family party ... that I later had to skip ... so I was left with a double recipe's worth. I am eating it this week for lunch at the office. I am gussying it up for the sake of variety...with (at this point) either horseradish or garlic paste (available at the Indian gorcery; looks a lot like horseradish). My one comment on the original recipe: I'm not sure if the bacon added anything at all, except keeping it out of vegetarian hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This was just okay. The blend of flavors gave it a funny smell as well as a very different after taste. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Excellent salad! I left out the honey because I prefer the tanginess of the dressing without it. The only change I'll make next time would be to double the spices for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I Thought this recipe was great! My family does not eat pork so I switched the bacon for a can of chickpeas and it was fantastic! You could also swap the sour cream for 'soy cream' substitute and make the dish vegan friendly! we also tried it with wild rice mixed in and it added an extra nutty crunch! we will surely make it again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States