Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
A really good side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I would give it a 3.5. I think it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I don't care for onions and am trying to go vegan so I left out the onions and cheese. It was still very good. My husband and son even had seconds. I will probably double the recipe next time so there will be plenty of extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is our go-to vegetarian recipe! Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I messed up the broccoli and the rice and forgot about the nuts, so I don't know if the recipe itself is perfect. I was distracted by kids and husband, but I'm not willing to dock it a star for my not being able to manage it under pressure! Maybe next time I'll get it right. But I was able to get it together enough to know that it's worth doing again. I like these ingredients together. Healthy and satisfying and great as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Great recipe. I made some changes suggested by previous users: Used a lot more cheese, mixed it throughout the dish then put in cassarole dish and baked it for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I loved this, my husband for some odd reason didn't but since he's not writing the review I'm disregarding his opinion ;) I added some sliced mushrooms to the onions and garlic while they were sauteing. After the rice was done I stirred in the steamed broccoli and a mix of cheddar and monteray jack cheese. I didn't have any walnuts, so I just sprinkled the top with sliced almonds (the kind you get in the salad section). I'll definitely make this again (though I'll have to wait until my husband goes to the field)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I was looking for something that would be comforting, but not too unhealthy and this was perfect. I used regular brown rice and cooked it with the onions and garlic per the recipe, but used 2 1/2 c. of broth and simmered it covered for 60 minutes. I also cooked the broccoli in my steamer until it was bright green and tender/crisp. I really liked the different textures in this dish. I leave the cheese out since I've stopped eating dairy and it was still tasty and very low in saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This gets 5 stars with the changes I made to it. Before, I found it lacked a little something. I took the advice of many reviewers and made this as a casserole instead. I used real brown rice instead of instant and olive oil instead of butter. I used low-fat cheese, too, and I don't think it affected the taste. I added extra broccoli because we love it and steamed it in the microwave for about 4 minutes before adding it to the rice, onion, cheese mixture. The major change I made was adding shelled, toasted pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts. They seem to add just the right touch of crunch and salt to the recipe. Then I baked the whole thing at 350 for about 20 minutes. My kids love this, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
YUM! I just made this for my 2 year old and myself and we loved it! The only changes we had were regular brown rice and monterray jack cheese. I also think I used about a cup of walnuts because we love them. Now I just have to convince my husband to try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUNKEEPUDDIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States