Brown Rice, Broccoli, Cheese and Walnut Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a really great idea, pairing the brown rice (used regular) and walnuts with the broccoli. I used frozen broccoli and next time I will double it. I dissoled a beef bouillion cube in a cup of water as I didn't have vegetable broth. I omitted the cheese because that just didn't seem to match up with the dish to me. Next time I think I'll add diced apples to cook it with and a complementary spice, maybe marjoram. I mixed in the broccoli and it still made an attractive presentation. Thanks for a different and nice "company" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
It was OK. I just added a chicken bouillion cube to the rice as I boiled it. Tasted good. Not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was really good. I omitted the walnuts and mixed about half the cheese into the dish and baked it with the other half of the cheese on top. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'll gladly give it 4 stars. My family and myself really liked your recipe. Thanks for putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was so yummy. I used Smart Balance instead of butter, skim cheese & used low-sodium veggie broth, though. My husband added his own sea salt, but I kept mine w/ no salt. We will be making this often. It made such a pretty presentation, too! I think it will be a great way for my non-vegetarian guests to eat a wonderful vegetarian meal & be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS! I just changed it a little bit: In a 10 inch skillet I sauteed about 1/4 lg. onion diced small on low for about 10 mins. in butter and oilve oil. Then I added about 4 sm. cloves of garlic chopped small and cooked for about 1 min. more. Added instant brown rice and fried it for a couple of mins. in the mixture. Added 1 c. CHICKEN broth, brought it up to a boil, then covered it and turned it to super low and cooked it until all the liquid absorbed (10 mins?). Tossed in the frozen broccoli I had already steamed and about 1 c. finely shredded "mexican style" cheese (that's what I had in the fridge). I divided it in two servings (my hubby and I loved it THAT MUCH!) and topped it with the toasted walnuts. YUM! Oh, we also had some baked salmon along with it. The salmon took a backseat to this wonderful rice dish. Thanks Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was amazing. I desided to steam as suggested and added a little more cheese and garlic then suggested, I also love cheese. Will definately make agian! The walnuts really make it unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was well liked by the family, and I felt good about serving them a healthy meal. It's easy and fast to put together too, which is a big bonus for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was a pretty good side dish, but I think I'd cut back on the cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I'm loving this recipe! I made a few changes based on others' recommendations: I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, regular brown rice, extra broccoli, and mixed it all together and baked it for 15 min. I ate it as a main course for lunch which was great, but am thinking it would be an awesome side dish with some nice baked fish... mmm.... I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States